Research Guides: POLS-396: Topics in International Relations: News and Think Tanks

Organizations

Canadian Newsstream
Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format.

Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information.
Factiva

To search using the classic interface, click the Switch Factiva button top right.
Note: Our institutional license supports "reader access only", and is not intended for text data mining or content analysis uses.
Provides access to more than 28,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. Contains same-day and archival coverage of key newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Note: 5 concurrent users limit

To create a permalink for a Factiva article, please use the link creator form found via this link: https://guides.library.queensu.ca/c.php?g=501533&p=5363542.
PressReader

PressReader gives you same day access to newspapers and magazines from around the world in full colour, full page format and available in over 60 languages. Current with 90 backfile for most titles.

Access to the Globe and Mail is restricted to on-campus only.
Off-campus users can receive “radiant access” for up to 7 days after logging into PressReader on-campus. Look for the complimentary access banner to confirm.

Gale Historical Newspapers
Contains historical newspapers and periodicals from the 17th Century to 2003.

The Marion (Sullivan) Hughes and Justin Sullivan Book Fund and the MacIsaac Memorial Fund

This collection includes the following databases:

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Part 1 and Part 2
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2014
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Indigenous Peoples, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Free access
ProQuest Historical Newspapers

This database includes the following newspapers; please click on the desired title:

Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Boston Globe (1872-1927)
Calgary Herald (1883-2010)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1989)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1999)
Edmonton Journal (1903-2010)
Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844 to 4 years ago
Hartford Courant (1764-1987)
Leader-Post, Regina (1883-2010)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
Montreal Gazette (1785-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851 to four years ago)
Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010)
The Province (1894-2010)
Saskatoon Star-Phoenix (1902-2010)
Times Colonist (1884-2010)
Toronto Star (1894 to 3 years ago)
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
Washington Post (1877-1996)
Windsor Star (1893-2010)
Historical Newspapers databases normally add one year of coverage annually.

Broadbent Institute
The Broadbent Institute is a Canadian progressive and social democratic think tank.
C.D. Howe Institute
An independent not-for-profit research institute whose mission is to raise living standards by fostering economically sound public policies
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
An independent, non-partisan research institute concerned with issues of social, economic and environmental justice.
Canadian Global Affairs Institute
A research institute with an emphasis on Canadian foreign policy, defence policy, and International aid.
Canadian International Council (CIC)
CIC is an "an independent, non-partisan membership organization and think tank dedicated to advancing constructive dialogue on Canada’s place in the world and providing an incubator for innovative ideas on how to address the world’s most pressing problems."
Fraser Institute
The Institute publishes "research into critical economic and public policy issues including taxation, government spending, health care, school performance, and trade".
Queen's University Centre for International and Defence Policy
The Centre's mandate is to "conduct research in matters of national and international security and other aspects of international relations".

...and many more. This is not an exhaustive list, but identifies a few of the more common think tanks discussed in the Canadian landscape.