Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format.
Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information.
Provides access to more than 28,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. Contains same-day and archival coverage of key newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Also included: Television and radio transcripts, general business and industry magazines, company reports, and historical market data.
Contains historical newspapers and periodicals from the 17th Century to 2003.
The Marion (Sullivan) Hughes and Justin Sullivan Book Fund and the MacIsaac Memorial Fund
This collection includes the following databases:
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Part 1 and Part 2
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2014
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Indigenous Peoples, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
This database includes the following newspapers; please click on the desired title:
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Boston Globe (1872-1927)
Calgary Herald (1883-2010)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1989)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1999)
Edmonton Journal (1903-2010)
Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844 to 4 years ago
Hartford Courant (1764-1987)
Leader-Post, Regina (1883-2010)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
Montreal Gazette (1785-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851 to four years ago)
Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010)
The Province (1894-2010)
Saskatoon Star-Phoenix (1902-2010)
Times Colonist (1884-2010)
Toronto Star (1894 to 3 years ago)
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
Washington Post (1877-1996)
Windsor Star (1893-2010)
Historical Newspapers databases normally add one year of coverage annually.
CIC is an "an independent, non-partisan membership organization and think tank dedicated to advancing constructive dialogue on Canada’s place in the world and providing an incubator for innovative ideas on how to address the world’s most pressing problems."