Research Guides: Providence Care: Home

Services

Health Sciences Librarians and support staff are here to connect you with health and biomedical information. Request a literature search, article, or table of contents alert using the links above. Feel free to contact us for any other questions or concerns.

About this Guide

Welcome! The purpose of this guide is to connect you with useful information resources and library services that are available to Providence Care through a partnership with the Bracken Health Sciences Library.

Additionally, feel free to contact us should you have any other questions or concerns.

Library Resources

Below are links to Providence Care's e-resources. You can navigate and explore these using the tabs below.

APA PsycINFO
APA PsycInfo® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Biomedical Reference Collection - Comprehensive
Database with access to full-text, indexing and abstracts for top biomedical journals, covering topics in medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and pre-clinical sciences.
CINAHL
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals.
Cochrane Collection Plus
Cochrane Collection Plus combines comprehensive databases from the Cochrane Library, a key resource in evidence-based medicine.
Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection - Comprehensive
This database provides full-text access to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, and consumer health related journals.
Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection
Provides access to hundreds of full-text psychology journals - an essential database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.

American Journal of Nursing
The American Journal of Nursing is the oldest and most honored broad-based nursing journal in the world. Peer-reviewed and evidence-based, it is considered the profession’s premier journal.
American Journal of Occupational Therapy
An official publication of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), AJOT seeks to facilitate informed, evidence-based decisions about best practice in Occupational Therapy.
American Journal of Psychiatry - Online - Tiers 1-5
The American Journal of Psychiatry is the official journal of the American Psychiatric Association, and covers all areas within psychiatry.
American Journal of Psychiatry Residents' Journal
A forum for medical students, psychiatry residents, and fellows - facilitates the sharing of ideas and experiences in training, practice, research, and careers with colleagues.
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Authoritative journal with information on the therapeutic utilization of physical, behavioural, and pharmaceutical agents in providing care to those with chronic illnesses and disabilities.
BMJ
The BMJ is a weekly peer-reviewed medical journal, published by BMJ Group
British Journal of Occupational Therapy
Internationally relevant peer-reviewed journal with a focus on research, practice, education, and policy in occupational therapy.
Canadian Journal of Psychiatry
The CJP is the official journal of the Canadian Psychiatric Association, and contains peer-reviewed articles related to all aspects of Canadian and international psychiatry.
Consumer Reports + Consumer Reports Buying Guide (Print Subscription)
Geriatric Nursing
Comprehensive source of peer-reviewed articles concerning information relating to the care of older adults, including drugs, advance directives, staff development, and more.
The Gerontologist
The Gerontologist publishes multidisciplinary research and analysis on social issues related to human aging, and informs a broad community of disciplines and professions.
Healthcare Quarterly
Best practices, policy and innovations in the administration of healthcare. For administrators, insurers, suppliers, and policy pundits.
JAMA
Published by the American Medical Association, JAMA contains peer-reviewed research across all areas of biomedicine.
Journal of Clinical Psychiatry
A psychiatric peer-reviewed medical journal containing research on clinical psychiatry, with a particular focus on depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, anxiety, addiction, ADHD, and more.
Journal of Gerontological Nursing
Peer-reviewed journal containing interdisciplinary and clinically relevant articles on gerontological and age-friendly care.
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services
Peer-reviewed journal that provides up-to-date research and content for clinical practice that promotes optimal care for diverse populations and communities with mental health needs.
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
Interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal concerned with the latest insights on clinical aging research, including geriatrics education, clinical practice, and public policy.
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association
The official journal of the American Medical Directors Association, JAMDA contains peer-reviewed articles concerning the provision of post-acute and long-term care, as well as information for policy-makers, organizational leaders, educators, and advocates.
Journals at Ovid
New England Journal of Medicine
The NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community.
Nursing
Nursing is a peer-reviewed journal that provides evidence-based information for all nurses on a comprehensive range of nursing topics, including clinical and professional information on drugs, diseases, nursing care strategies, and legal/ethical issues.
Canadian Journal of Nursing Leadership
Peer-reviewed journal covering topics in politics, policy, theory, and innovations that contribute to leadership in nursing administration, practice, teaching, and research.
Nursing Management
Nursing Management contains peer-reviewed articles concerning practical, educational, and cutting edge information for nurse leaders.
OT PRACTICE
The clinical and professional magazine of the American Occupational Therapy Association - Serves as a comprehensive source for practical information to help occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants succeed professionally
Psychiatric Services
Published by the American Psychiatric Association, Psychiatric Services is a peer-reviewed journal featuring research reports on issues related to the delivery of mental health services, especially for those with serious mental illness in community-based treatment programs.
PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal
PTJ engages with topics related to physical therapy and rehabilitation, and publishes peer-reviewed and highly relevant content for both clinicians and scientists with the expressed purpose of improving patient care.
Readers Digest (Print Subscription)
SIS Quarterly Practice Connections
A supplement to OT Practice, the SIS Quarterly Practice Connections provides guidance on high-priority and emerging areas of occupational therapy practice through the application of contemporary research and evidence.
Therapeutic Recreation Journal
Peer-reviewed journal containing research and discussion on the needs of persons with disabilities, problems confronting the profession, new vistas of service, and receiving therapeutic recreation services.

eBook Collection

Providence Care Hospital Library

Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs
CPS (formerly (RxTx)
Provides access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information. Included are: access to best practices on common medical conditions, e-CPS, CPhA's Therapeutic Choices, Lexi -Comp's Lexi-Interact, information for patients, Health Canada Advisories, and more.
ISMP (Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada)
LexiComp

Ottawa Parenteral Drug Therapy Manual - 43rd Edition (2022)

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Cochrane Summaries
Plain-language summaries of medical evidence.
Health Information Translations
This website provides plain language health education resources for health care professionals and others working in communities with limited English proficient populations.
The website is a collaboration of health education specialists from the four health systems in Central Ohio.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Excellent resource for information on complementary and alternative therapies.

Library Services

Below are our available library services. You can also always access services via the pane on the left.

Request a Literature Search:

When you request a literature search, Bracken Librarians will review a particular topic and generate a list of relevant articles/resources to be returned to you.
Below, you can find the literature search request form. Once you fill in the required information and submit, we will process your request and get back to you as soon as possible.

Request an Article (LINK):

If you are having trouble locating journal articles, feel free to send us a request for those items.
If you would like to make an article request, please use the above link. This will automatically format an email to the Bracken reference inbox, in which you simply need to fill in the required information.

Request a Journal Table of Contents Alert (LINK):

A journal table of contents alert can be set up if you are interested in staying up to date on a particular publication
If you would like to request an alert, please use the above link. This will automatically format an email to the Bracken reference inbox, in which you simply need to fill in the required information.