Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

RELS-316/816: Living with the Dead

Omni

What is Omni?

Omni is the library search tool used to find items in Queen's Libraries and our partner libraries, as well to access articles and other electronic resources but NOT everything is included.

Discover the features of Omni in our quick guide.

Detailed information about how to search Omni is available in the Omni Search Tips guide.

Finding Books

Search Omni to find books, journals, videos and other materials owned by the Library.  You may search by keywords, author, title or subject headings. 
 
To find books by a particular author or person, search Omni by author/creator. Go to Advanced Search and enter person's name..
 
 
To find books about a particular author or person, search Omni by subject heading:

Subject Headings vs Keyword Searching

Subject headings allow you to search for resources on a particular author or topic and are often more productive than keyword searches. 

Keyword searches work best if you have multiple concepts or topics. Think of the words that best describe your topic and then connect them with the boolean operators AND OR NOT.

One strategy to find books on your topic is to use a keyword search to find relevant subjects that you can click on to find more books on the same topic.

Topic: Symbolism and art in the French revolution.

Keyword Searching TIPS
 

Search Technique  

What It Does

quotation marks

Searches for exact phrase

Truncation *

Searches for all forms of a word

Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)

Lets you broaden or narrow your search
 
(french OR france) AND revolution AND (symbolism OR art)
 
When searching OMNI for books, use the facets located on the search results screen, to limit your search results to books & ebooks.

E-Book Packages

The Library subscribes to a number of e-book packages which can be accessed via Databases. Packages that are of interest to students in religion are:

  • ACLS Humanities E-Book: Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies.
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
  • The Internet Archive The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts. There is also a collection of 300,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed or downloaded by the print-disabled at OpenLibrary.org.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion A collection of e-books, published by Oxford University Press, in the field of religion and theology.
  • Scholars Portal Books Provides access to about 600,000 electronic books (ebooks) Prom a wide variety of publishers.
  • University Press Scholarship Online Collection of e-books from leading university presses (includes Oxford Scholarship Online titles).