SciFinder Classic was launched in 1998 as SciFinder Scholar. The current version, SciFindern, was launched in 2017. It comprises a suite of linked biobliographic and chemical information databases. These are:
See details for each database below.
The CAS REGISTERY® is the world's premier source of accurate information on chemical substances. It includes chemical names, structures, and CAS REGISTERY® numbers for 196 million organic and inorganic substances and approximately 70 million protein and nucleic acid sequences. It also contains 8 billion experimental and predicted property data points and spectra. Approximately 400,000 chemical substances also include regulatory data sourced from national and international inventories.
CAS References, also known as CAplus, provides broad coverage of the chemical literature dating back to 1907. This includes references from more than 50,000 current and historical international journals and patents from 64 patent issuing authorities. It also provides selected coverage of books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and journals and patents from the 1800s. As of June 2022, CAS References contained more than 57.5 million records.
MEDLINE® is a biomedical and health sciences database maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains approximately 29 million references sourced from 15,000 international journals, including 5,200 current journals, dating back to 1946. References are indexed under the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) system, a controlled vocabulary created by NLM. MeSH is not searchable in SciFinder, However, MeSH terms are linked in records and can be clicked to acquire all other references containing that term.
CAS Reactions indexes more than 146 million single- and multi-step reactions published in journals, patents, dissertations, and other sources since 1840. It also includes 14 million synthetic preparations. Reactions are searchable by structure, reaction role, functional group, reaction site, atom mapping, and more.
CAS Commercial Sources contains millions of commercially available chemical products sourced from the catalogues of hundreds of global suppliers. Verified information includes catalogue name, product number, CAS Registery number,
CHEMLIST® contains information on 400,000 regulated chemical substances sourced from national and international inventories and lists.