Skip to Main Content

Sociology

An introduction to Sociology resources at Queen's

Article Indexes

Journal articles are important sources for your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade. If you are looking for scholarly or peer reviewed articles, you can typically restrict your search results to only peer reviewed journal articles by applying a search limit in the database.

To locate articles on your topic, use an index or a database such as the ones recommended on this guide. 

Tip: If you know the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper you are looking for you can click on the Journal Search tab in Omni to search by title. 

Key Indexes

Premiere database for finding sociological research. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
 
A pre-selected group of several databases covering literature published in sociology and related disciplines. 
 
Smaller in depth and breadth when compared to Sociological Abstracts, the Sociology Database gives users access to the full-text journals in sociology and social work including many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts. The Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture, social structure, history, theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse, addiction, and more. 

Multidisciplinary Social Sciences Indexes

Provides international coverage and indexes journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters.
 
Multidisciplinary and international in scope. Indexes over 21,000 journals across multiple indexes, including the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Gender Studies

Indexes scholarly and popular journals covering gender-engaged scholarship.
 
Comprehensive index (with abstracts and links to full-text) to articles, books and reference works relating to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.

Criminology and Criminal Justice

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library
Contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals from jurisdictions including Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom.
 
Index to journal articles and books in all areas of law.
 
Legal Periodicals Full Text
Index, with selective full text, to articles and books on all areas of law.
 
LegalTrac
​Comprehensive index to law and law-related journals and newspapers.
 
Contains summaries of over 174,000 U.S. and international publications, government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research in the fields of criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
 
Contains an extensive collection of Canadian case law and legislation, plus commentary.

Indexes to Non-Mainstream Publications

Interdisciplinary index to alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
 
Interdisciplinary, with a focus on publications from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Broad Multidisciplinary Indexes

Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
 
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

Other Useful Indexes

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Multidisciplinary database indexing Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, and news.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC covers more than 600 journal titles and includes full text for over 200 journals in advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.

GEOBASE
Includes human geography.

ProQuest One Business
Business database containing the full text of thousands of sources, including essential scholarly journals, trade magazines, newspapers, company and industry reports, ebooks, videos and more.

SportDiscus
Coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.