Legal Research Manual

This text serves as a single-volume introduction to international law as a system that is based on, and helps structure, relations among states and other entities at the international level. Part I provides essential background on the sources of international law.

International and Foreign Legal Research is designed for classes in foreign and international legal research. Topics covered in the book range from treaty research to chapters on particular subjects of international law. Coverage also includes chapters on researching foreign and comparative law as well as major international organizations, including the UN and the EU.

This text is a collection of writings from scholars that explains the principles of international law and exposes the debates and challenges that underlie it. Chapter 4 focuses on sources of international law.

This book provides an introduction to the system and substance of international law. Chapter 2 includes an overview of sources of international law.

Providing a basic introduction to international legal research for the nonspecialist, Hoffman and Berring’s International Legal Research in a Nutshell offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties. Because it is aimed at the nonspecialist, the text provides straightforward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions.