Skip to Main Content

LIBS 300: The Liberal Arts in a Contemporary World

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Article Databses - Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database for academic institutions, providing thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journals to support scholarly research in key areas of study

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
IBSS is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research with international coverage.

JSTOR
Large arts and humanities collection. Covers mass media, digital media, film, literature, music and performing arts.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.

Web of Science
A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.

Article Databases - Subject Specific

Geobase
GEOBASE is a multi-disciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography,

Environment Complete
Coverage of environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Greenfile
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Sociological Abstracts
Comprehensive index to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Selected Journals

  • Climate Change
  • Global Environmental Change 
  • Population and Environment
  • Canadian Geographer
  • Progress in Human Geography
  • Economic Geography 
  • Transactions of the Institute of British Geographers 
  • Urban Studies
  • Journal of the American Planning Association 
  • Political Geography
  • Annals of the Association of American Geographers 
  • Annals of the American Association of Geographers

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to climate change and migration.   

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

How to Search for a Journal using Omni

Once you’re in Omni: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdings or the years covered online.

Google Scholar

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use this search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, pre-prints, and technical reports.
 

Google Scholar is especially useful when doing a quick search on a topic but less useful when you want an overview of literature on a certain topic,

For the pros and cons of searching Google Scholar, check this guide from ECU Libraries.