Reference works are a great place to start your research as they provide quick, authoritative introductions to a topic. Common reference works include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, almanacs, and style manuals, and contain useful information such as descriptions, definitions, statistics, lists, quotes, properties, and standards.
Information from reference works is commonly used in the following two ways:
Context: If you want to know more about a topic that you are researching, or even a topic that is completely new to you, you can use a reference book. For example, if you use Wikipedia to look up general information about a topic or event, you are using Wikipedia as a reference tool. However, Wikipedia can be edited by anyone, so it is not necessarily the most authoritative or trustworthy source of information. The reference sources from the library have already been vetted for authority and quality so you know that the information contained within them is high-quality.
Supporting Arguments: Reference materials can be used to support facts or other arguments that you make in a paper or assignment. Again, this information may be available on the web, but you would have to do some additional work to ensure that the source is reliable, whereas the reference materials in the library have already been vetted.
Many of the library's reference materials are available online, so you can access them from anywhere and easily search for the information you need. We also have print materials in the Reference Section on the 5th Level of Douglas Library. If you have any questions about using reference materials, or would like a librarian to help you find the best sources, choose the "book a consultation" link on the left.
Some examples of relevant reference items in Knovel include:
To start browsing in Knovel, refine the subject area by "Environment and Environmental Engineering," and then further refine by topic. You can also search Knovel by keyword using the search bar at the top of the screen.
Some examples of Oxford Reference resources include:
To start browsing in Oxford Reference Online, refine the subject area by:
+Science and technology
+Environmental Studies AND/OR
+Earth Sciences and Geography
Alternatively, you can use the search bar in Oxford Reference Online to look up definitions, overviews, and timelines of important concepts, methodologies, and theories.
Some examples of Sage Online Reference resources include:
You can browse by discipline, "Geography, Earth & Environmental Science," in Sage Online Reference or use the search bar at the top of the screen to keyword search.
To start browsing in Wiley Online Library, choose the subject area "Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences" and then refine further depending on your topic or sub-topics. Once in your sub-topic, you can apply the filter "Reference Materials" on the left-hand side. Likewise, you can keyword search or use the advanced search function.
Encyclopedia of Geology by
Encyclopedia of Geology, Second Edition presents in six volumes state-of-the-art reviews on the various aspects of geologic research, all of which have moved on considerably since the writing of the first edition. New areas of discussion include extinctions, origins of life, plate tectonics and its influence on faunal provinces, new types of mineral and hydrocarbon deposits, new methods of dating rocks, and geological processes. Users will find this to be a fundamental resource for teachers and students of geology, as well as researchers and non-geology professionals seeking up-to-date reviews of geologic research. Provides a comprehensive and accessible one-stop shop for information on the subject of geology, explaining methodologies and technical jargon used in the field Highlights connections between geology and other physical and biological sciences, tackling research problems that span multiple fields Fills a critical gap of information in a field that has seen significant progress in past years Presents an ideal reference for a wide range of scientists in earth and environmental areas of study
International Encyclopedia of Geography by
Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. Available as a robust online resource and as a 15-volume full-color print set, the Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. Contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world Assembles a truly global group of more than 900 scholars hailing from over 40 countries, for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world Provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science Brings together interdisciplinary perspectives on geographical topics and techniques of interest across the social sciences, humanities, science, and medicine Features full color throughout the print version and more than 1,000 illustrations and photographs Annual updates to online edition
Encyclopedia of Ecology by
The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology The first reference work to cover all aspects of ecology, from basic to applied Over 500 concise, stand-alone articles are written by prominent leaders in the field Article text is supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material Fully indexed and cross referenced with detailed references for further study Writing level is suited to both the expert and non-expert Available electronically on ScienceDirect shortly upon publication
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
The Spirit of Sustainability maps out the ¿values¿ territory, helping readers understand the moral worlds, axial concepts, social practices, and major topics related to sustainability. Coverage ranges widely, from the promise and problems of global and indigenous religions to major theories in philosophy and environmental ethics, and then to professional practices and social movements. As a whole, the volume describes the various goals of sustainability¿ecological integrity, economic health, human dignity, fairness to the future, social justice¿as well as interpretive frameworks for reasoning through their combined challenge.
Encyclopedia of Water Science by
Filled with figures, images, and illustrations, Encyclopedia of Water Science, Second Edition provides effective concepts and procedures in environmental water science and engineering. It unveils a wide spectrum of design concepts, methods, and solutions for enhanced performance of water quality, treatment, conservation, and irrigation methods, as well as improved water efficiency in industrial, municipal, and agricultural programs. The second edition also includes greatly enhanced coverage of streams and lakes as well as many regional case studies. An International Team Addresses Important Issues The only source to provide full coverage of current debates in the field, the encyclopedia offers professional expertise on vital issues including: Current laws and regulations Irrigation management Environmental water economics Agroforestry Erosion control Nutrient best management practices Water sanitation Stream and lake morphology and processes Sharpen Your Skills -- Meet Challenges Well-Armed A direct and reliable source for best practices in water handling, preservation, and recovery, the encyclopedia examines challenges in the provision of safe water supplies, guiding environmental professionals as they face a worldwide demand for sanitary and affordable water reserves. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
The Cambridge Handbook of Environmental Justice and Sustainable Development by
Despite the global endorsement of the Sustainable Development Goals, environmental justice struggles are growing all over the world. These struggles are not isolated injustices, but symptoms of interlocking forms of oppression that privilege the few while inflicting misery on the many and threatening ecological collapse. This handbook offers critical perspectives on the multi-dimensional, intersectional nature of environmental injustice and the cross-cutting forms of oppression that unite and divide these struggles, including gender, race, poverty, and indigeneity. The work sheds new light on the often-neglected social dimension of sustainability and its relationship to human rights and environmental justice. Using a variety of legal frameworks and case studies from around the world, this volume illustrates the importance of overcoming the fragmentation of these legal frameworks and social movements in order to develop holistic solutions that promote justice and protect the planet's ecosystems at a time of intensifying economic and ecological crisis.
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering by
Environmental science and engineering is a truly interdisciplinary field. From its origins in public health practice, concern for the well-being of our environment has embraced areas as diverse as chemistry, the earth sciences, biology, engineering and law. The specialist language of any discipline can be a barrier to co-operation and understanding in solving environmental problems. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering will be a valuable reference tool for anyone working, whether directly or indirectly, with the environment. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.
Handbook of Environmental Engineering Calculations by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Take Advantage of the Latest Calculation Methods for Solving Problems in Every Major Area of Environmental Engineering The only hands-on reference of its kind, the Handbook of Environmental Engineering Calculations equips you with step-by-step calculation procedures covering virtually every aspect of environmental engineering. Designed to give you quick access to essential information, the updated Second Edition of this unique guide now presents the latest methods for solving a wide range of specific problems, together with worked-out examples that include numerical results for the calculations. Written by a team of environmental experts from both the private and public sectors, this easy-to-use reference provides you with complete calculations for water quality assessment and control...solid waste materials ... and air pollution control. Filled with 200 helpful illustrations, the Second Edition features: Hundreds of detailed examples and calculations with fully illustrated steps Calculations covering every aspect of environmental engineering Both SI and U.S. customary units presented throughout New to this edition: new sections on fuel cells and air toxic risk assessment Inside This State-of-the-Art Environmental Engineering Toolkit * Calculations of Water Quality Assessment and Control * Solid Waste Calculations * Air Pollution Control Calculations * Air Toxic Risk Assessment * Fuel Cell Technologies
Risk and Reliability Analysis by
When it comes to the planning, design, construction, and management of engineering systems, risk and uncertainty are unavoidable. The consideration of the risk involved in any situation, project, or plan becomes an integral part of the decision-making process. Risk and Reliability Analysis: A Handbook for Civil and Environmental Engineers presents key concepts of risk and reliability that apply to a wide array of problems in civil and environmental engineering. The authors begin with an overview of the art of making decisions in the presence of uncertainty and then explain the fundamentals of probability that will be applied throughout the book. In the second part of the book, the authors discuss various techniques used in probability distributions and parameter estimation. A third section of the book considers different aspects of uncertainty analysis, especially risk analysis and risk management, providing instructive examples. The final group of chapters addresses reliability analysis and design, focusing particularly on the important area of water distribution networks. Ample illustrations and detailed real-life examples make Risk and Reliability Analysis essential reading for present and future engineers in the fields of civil, environmental, biological, and agricultural engineering, as well as the watershed sciences. About the Authors Vijay P. Singh, Ph.D., P.E., holds the Caroline and William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering and is a professor of biological and agricultural engineering at Texas A&M University. He also serves as editor-in-chief of ASCE's Journal of Hydrologic Engineering. Sharad K. Jain, Ph.D., is a senior scientist and head of the Water Resources Systems Division of the National Institute of Hydrology in Roorkee, India. Aditya Tyagi, Ph.D., P.E., is a senior water resources engineer and technologist in the water business group of CH2M Hill. AwardsThis book was named an Outstanding Academic Title in 2008 by Choice: Reviews for Academic Libraries.
Statistics for Environmental Science and Management by
Revised, expanded, and updated, this second edition of Statistics for Environmental Science and Management is that rare animal, a resource that works well as a text for graduate courses and a reference for appropriate statistical approaches to specific environmental problems. It is uncommon to find so many important environmental topics covered in one book. Its strength is author Bryan Manly's ability to take a non-mathematical approach while keeping essential mathematical concepts intact. He clearly explains statistics without dwelling on heavy mathematical development. The book begins by describing the important role statistics play in environmental science. It focuses on how to collect data, highlighting the importance of sampling and experimental design in conducting rigorous science. It presents a variety of key topics specifically related to environmental science such as monitoring, impact assessment, risk assessment, correlated and censored data analysis, to name just a few. Revised, updated or expanded material on: Data Quality Objectives Generalized Linear Models Spatial Data Analysis Censored Data Monte Carlo Risk Assessment There are numerous books on environmental statistics; however, while some focus on multivariate methods and others on the basic components of probability distributions and how they can be used for modeling phenomenon, most do not include the material on sampling and experimental design that this one does. It is the variety of coverage, not sacrificing too much depth for breadth, that sets this book apart.
Use Omni to search the library's catalogue for books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, open access materials, and more. You can discover materials that are not available at Queen's but that you can freely request either within Omni or through interlibrary loan.
