The Routedge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies is the first comprehensive overview of the rapidly expanding field of Indigenous scholarship.
Reference resources are a great place to begin your research. They can help you define terms as well as to find basic information about a topic, a chronicle of its history, theories, key people and sometimes a bibliography of additional sources.
There are many different types of reference sources, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, bibliographies, handbooks, style manuals to name a few.
Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues by
This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.
Dictionaries provide short definitions (a sentence or two, or a short paragraph) of terms or a brief overview of an subject, etc.
Encyclopedias contain longer essays that provide a more in-depth discussion of topics and often have bibliographical references.
To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search Omni using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries" or look for these words following a subject heading.
Canada AND (dictionaries OR encyclopedias)
Canada--History--Dictionaries [subject search]
For a list of dictionaries and encyclopedias related to Canadian history, check the subject guide, Canadian History, and in particular, the section on dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Also check the Indigenous Studies guide and in particular the section on Reference Materials.
Bibliographies like Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides helping you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.
For a broad search, search all subjects with the term indigenous or you can limit your search by searching a particular subject, e.g. In the Atlantic History module, search the term indigenous.
Relevant articles include: Indigenous Peoples and the Global Indigenous Movement, Settler Colonialism, Jesuit Relations and Indigeneity.
Indigenous History – A Bibliography
This is a select bibliography of historical works by Indigenous scholars on Indigenous histories in North America/Turtle Island.