Skip to Main Content

Decolonization in Canadian and Indigenous Science Fiction

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, which means that they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process, whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor. In general, the most thoroughly researched articles on literary topics are found in scholarly journals and these are what you should most often cite in research essays.

Key Literature Indexes

MLA International Bibliography
Searches scholarly writing on literature, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, national literatures, literary genres, etc. Indexes journals, books, conference proceedings, essay collections, bibliographies, and dissertations. See help videos. 
 
Searchable database of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Also indexes criticism from ABELL (The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and MLA.

Other Relevant Indexes

Canadian Business and Current Affairs A Canadian resource
Indexes articles to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines, including the  following scholarly journals: Canadian Literature; Studies in Canadian Literature; Essays on Canadian Writing; University of Toronto Quarterly; American Review of Canadian Studies; Journal of Canadian Studies; Canadian Review of Comparative Literature.

Canadian Periodicals (CPI.Q) A Canadian resource
An interdisciplinary index to over 400 English and French Canadian periodicals indexed by author and subject, with special headings for book reviews, poems, film reviews, drama, and short stories.

I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) A Canadian resource
The I-Portal contains full-text electronic resources with a primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada plus more.
 
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous Peoples in North American culture, history and life..

Why Use a Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as criticism and other materials related to literature. 

Some will contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholalry from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.