Reference resources are a great place to begin your research. They can help you define terms as well as to find background information about a topic, a chronicle of its history, theories, key people and sometimes a bibliography of additional sources.
There are many different types of reference sources, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, bibliographies, handbooks, style manuals to name a few.
To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search Omni using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".
Oxford Reference Online - History
♦ Dictionary of British History
♦ Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
♦ Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
♦ Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages.
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Medieval Resources
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF D114.D5
Thirteen volumes, an excellent source of information about the people, events and concepts of the Middle Ages. Organized in either major articles of 10,000 words or short definitions. Contains bibliographies, mainly of works in English but also includes references to important works in other languages.
New Cambridge Medieval History
Written by leading international scholars and incorporating the very latest research, the History provides comprehensive analysis of all aspects of medieval history from late antiquity to c. 1500.
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
REF HF1001.T7 2000
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ1147.E85 W66 2006
Daily life of medieval women in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE.
Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia
REF HQ1143.W643 2004
Renaissance Resources
New Cambridge Modern History
