For detailed information on finding primary sources in the humanities and social sciences go to the Primary Sources guide.
Avalon Project Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy - including Medieval, 15th century and 16th century documents.
Best of History Websites: Medieval History (Middle Ages)
Best of History Websites: Renaissance
CORSAIR: Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts
EuroDocs: History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
Epistolae: Medieval Women’s Letters
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Labyrinth Resources for Medieval Studies
A collection of digital resources for medieval studies organized by category, including Art, Armor, Crusades, Gender, Manuscripts, and many others.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
This site covers the Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century and Restoration periods and aims to provide a starting point for students and enthusiasts of English Literature.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO includes full text facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
Early European Books Collection (EEB)
EEB is a collection of digitized European books printed in the early modern period (1450s-1700).
Empire Online
Empire Online contains an expansive collection of primary source documents that explore colonial history, politics, culture, and society beginning in 1492..
State Papers Online
This collection covers the reigns of the Tudors, the Stuarts, and the Hannovers (up to George III's rule in 1782).
Translated Texts for Historians E-Library
Contains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English.
Blanche of Castile and King Louis IX of France; Author Dictating to a Scribe Moralized Bible, MS M.240, fol. 9r.Paris, France. ca. 1227-1234. Courtesy of the Pierpont Morgan Library, New York