Skip to Main Content

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Finding Articles

Key Journal Indexes

Covers all aspects of European medieval studies from 450 to 1500.
 
A bibliography drawn from over 500 medieval and renaissance journal titles covering from 400 to 1700.
 
Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).

Other Relevant Indexes

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles, essays and book reviews in theology and religious studies.
 
Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
CB361 .Z9 B5
For late medieval and early Renaissance, this index covers 15th and 16th century topics broadly. Time lag is about five years.
 
Covers journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
 
Provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship.
 
Journal archive includes such titles as: Journal of British Studies, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Journal of the History of Ideas, Speculum, Western Intellectual History.
 
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to scholarly literature in literatures, linguistics, modern languages, folklore, and dramatic arts

Key Journals

  • Early Medieval Europe
  • Journal of Medieval History
  • Medieval and Early Modern English Studies
  • The Medieval History Journal
  • The Medieval Review
  • Renaissance Quarterly
  • Renaissance News
  • Renaissance Studies
  • Speculum: A Journal of Medieval Studies
  • Studies in Medieval and Renaissance History

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference

How to Search for a Journal using Omni

In Omni: 

• Select the journal search option
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.