Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

English Literature

Early Imprints / E-Texts

19th Century Masterfile
A database of 485,000 citations, this is a core resource for researching nineteenth-century topics focusing on cultural and intellectual life. Other periodical indexes are also searchable at this site. Citations only.
 

Canadiana
Contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.

Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digital reproductions of nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published during the 18th century and representing every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
 
English Short Title Catalogue
Includes a comprehensive bibliography of the printed output of the hand-press era, lists the whereabouts of surviving copies, and notes the existence of facsimiles. The holdings of over 1,500 libraries around the world are represented. Geographically, the ESTC includes:
  1. All relevant items printed in the British Isles
  2. All relevant items printed in Colonial America, the United States (1776-1800) and Canada
  3. All relevant items printed in territories governed by Britain during any period up to 1800
  4. All relevant items, printed wholly or partly in English, or other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world
Godey's Lady's Book
Intended to entertain, inform and educate American women; today considered to be one of the most important resources for 19th-century American life and culture.
 
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction
Includes fiction, poetry and plays written by Latin American writers with Hispanic background working in the United States.
 

Literature Online
Searchable database of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. 

Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue
NSTC aims to provide listings of British books printed between 1801 and 1919. "British books" are defined as "all books published in Britain, its colonies, and the United States of America; all books in English wherever published; and all translations from English."
 

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Full-text primary resources (monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more) of Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; and Women: Transnational Networks.

Palmer's Index to The Times, 1790-1905
Part of C19: The Nineteenth Centuy Index.

PEPweb
PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
 

Project Gutenberg
Provides e-text editions of public domain novels and historical documents.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
AI3.R2 from 1983-2006 (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature) (Stauffer Compact Shelving)
Indexes and abstracts Canadian and U.S. journals, magazines, and newspapers.

The Times Digital Archive (1785-2019)

Early Journals

Gentleman's Magazine

The Annual Register

Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society

  • Years 1757-1775 (volumes 50-65) are available via JSTOR

Notes and Queries

The Builder

Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine