Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Film & Media

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Peer Reviewed vs Scholarly

All peer-reviewed articles are scholarly articles, but not all scholarly articles are peer-reviewed.

Scholarly means the article was written by an expert for an audience of other experts, researchers or students.

Peer-reviewed takes it one step further and means the article was reviewed and critiqued by the author's peers who are experts in the same subject area.

Key Journal Indexes

Indexes over 560 journals with more than 160 full-text journals, and 160 full-text books.
 
Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971
REF Z5784 .M9 B39
Includes contents of fourteen film journals, plus the film reviews and articles from the Village Voice.
 
American Film Institute Catalog
The AFI Catalog lists films, with plot summaries, filmographic information, and more ...

Additional Databases for Film Criticism

Covers both scholarly and non scholarly sources in all fields.
 
Part of Web of Science Core Collection. Indexes scholarly articles about film as well as critical reviews of films. 
 
CBCA is Canada’s largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database
 
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check Omni
Information about Canadian films, actors, actresses, directors and other people in the film industry.
 
Communication & Mass Media Complete

CMMC is a database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication and mass media studies.
 
The Critical Index: A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973
REF Z5784 .M9 .G47
Indexes articles from over 20 American, British, and Canadian journals on directors, producers, actors, critics, screenwriters, cinematographers, specific films and the history of the film industry.
 
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes scholarly articles and books in literature, language, folklore and film. 

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as film criticism and other materials related to film and media studies.

Some will contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.