See also Art now, a set of artist biographies and art movements: Art Collection N6497 .A78 2008 v. 1-4
Finding Exhibition Catalogues
Use the subheading “exhibitions” in a Boolean search for exhibition catalogues:
belmore AND exhibition* [truncated for singular or plural]
rebecca AND belmore AND exhibition*
belmore AND exhibition* AND ottawa
Finding Books and Exhibition Catalogues
Search Omni, the catalogue of the Queen's University Library, by Author, Title, Subject, or Call Number to find books, exhibition catalogues and materials in other formats in our collection.
Search using Boolean operators (AND/OR/NOT) in Simple or Advanced Searchto find books on topics or information in other formats, especially if you don't know the correct subject heading, or specific author or title. Use Boolean(AND, OR, or, NOT) to combine terms, quotations to do phrase searching (e.g. "gilbert & george") or an asterisk (*) when truncating a word (e.g. sculpt* - to retrieve sculpture, sculptures or sculptor.)
Narrow or refine search by adding other terms, such as geographic, time period, or an art form: e.g.
nauman AND installations
painting AND abstract AND canada
Broaden search using the * symbol to truncate for variable word endings (e.g. nouns, adjectives, singular or plural) or by using "OR" between similar or possible terms nested in brackets: e.g.
painting* AND abstract AND canad*
sculpture* AND (bourgeois OR "kiki smith")*
frenkel AND exhibition* AND (agnes OR kingston)
"laurie anderson" AND video* (for all formats of videorecordings) [or limit to Resource Type "Visual" in Omni]
* Note the nested (i.e. bracketed) search for similar or possible terms, combined with your AND term.
Use quotes around a phrase or concept, including full artist names: e.g.
"gilbert & george"
"nam june paik"
Limit large result sets by library location or by using "NOT": e.g.
"yoko ono" NOT lennon
"avant garde" (tip: limit to Queen's Location e.g. Art Collection)
environments OR situations (limit to a Queen's Library - e.g. Stauffer - or a Queen's Location - e.g. Art Collection)
From your results, select useful titles and click on the Subject Headings assigned to find other books on your topic. E.g.:
Art, Modern--21st century
Art movements--History--20th century
Human figure in art
Painting, modern--20th century
100 Contemporary Artists by Hans Werner Holzwarth (Editor)100 artists who epitomize the contemporary art scene: Key figures on the avant-garde horizon This special two-volume edition features 100 of the most exciting artists from TASCHEN's seminal Art at the Turn of the Millennium and the renowned Art Now! series - gathered in a comprehensive survey of contemporary art at the start of the 21st century. The selection includes a wide variety of works by pioneering artists like Jean-Michel Basquiat, Marlene Dumas, Damien Hirst, Mike Kelley, Jeff Koons, Albert Oehlen, Richard Prince, Charles Ray, Cindy Sherman, and Christopher Wool - alongside a younger generation including Glenn Brown, Natalie Djurberg, Tom Friedman, Mark Grotjahn and Terence Koh. Featured artists include: Franz Ackermann, Ai Wei Wei, Doug Aitken, Darren Almond, Francis Alys, Banksy, Matthew Barney, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Cosima von Bonin, Monica Bonvicini, Cecily Brown, Glenn Brown, André Butzer, Cai Guo-Qiang, Maurizio Cattelan, George Condo, John Currin, Thomas Demand, Rineke Dijkstra, Nathalie Djurberg, Peter Doig, Marlene Dumas, Olafur Eliasson, Elmgreen & Dragset, Tracey Emin, Urs Fischer, Peter Fischli / David Weiss, Günther Förg, Walton Ford, Tom Friedman, Ellen Gallagher, Robert Gober, Nan Goldin, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Douglas Gordon, Mark Grotjahn, Subodh Gupta, Andreas Gursky, Keith Haring, Mona Hatoum, Thomas Hirschhorn, Damien Hirst, Gary Hume, Anish Kapoor, Mike Kelley, Martin Kippenberger, Terence Koh, Jeff Koons, Barbara Kruger, Won Ju Lim, Sarah Lucas, Vera Lutter, Marepe, Paul McCarthy, Jonathan Meese, Beatriz Milhazes, Mariko Mori, Sarah Morris, Takashi Murakami, Wangechi Mutu, Yoshitomo Nara, Shirin Neshat, Ernesto Neto, Tim Noble & Sue Webster, Albert Oehlen, Chris Ofili, Gabriel Orozco, Tony Oursler, Jorge Pardo, Raymond Pettibon, Elizabeth Peyton, Richard Phillips, Richard Prince, Neo Rauch, Charles Ray, Tobias Rehberger, Jason Rhoades, Daniel Richter, Pipilotti Rist, Raqib Shaw, Cindy Sherman, Santiago Sierra, Rudolf Stingel, Thomas Struth, Philip Taaffe, Mickalene Thomas, Wolfgang Tillmans, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Rosemarie Trockel, Luc Tuymans, Piotr Uklaski, Francesco Vezzoli, Kara Walker, Jeff Wall, Rebecca Warren, Franz West, Rachel Whiteread, Kehinde Wiley, Christopher Wool and Erwin Wurm. Text in English, French, and German
Call Number: N6497 .O468 2009 folio v. 1-2
Almost Nothing : observations on precarious practices in contemporary art by Anna DezeuzeWhat does an assemblage made out of crumpled newspaper have in common with an empty room in which the lights go on and off every five seconds? This book argues that they are both examples of a 'precarious' art that flourished from the late 1950s to the first decade of the twenty-first century, in light of a growing awareness of the individual's fragile existence in capitalist society. Focusing on comparative case studies drawn from European, North and South American practices, this study maps out a network of similar concerns and practices, while outlining its evolution from the 1960s to the beginning of the twenty-first century. This book will provide students and amateurs of contemporary art and culture with new insights into contemporary art practices and the critical issues that they raise concerning the material status of the art object, the role of the artist in society, and the relation between art and everyday life.
Call Number: N6490 .D439 2017
The Artists Who Will Change the World by Omar Kholeif; Douglas CouplandTraditional histories of art have often been confined to a western European framework. But with the birth of contemporary museum culture, the proliferation of art fairs and biennials in regions far and wide, and the advent of digital technologies, new global networks have emerged, fostering a new world map of art, and paving the way for the art of tomorrow.How do we engage with contemporary art in this global, ever-developing context? Senior Curator Omar Kholeif--a respected voice in contemporary art criticism--surveys the most influential figures and works in a series of concise, accessible entries.The Artists Who Will Change the World is an introductory field guide to what the most urgent contemporary artists--Amalia Ulman, Lynette Yiadom Boakye, Hito Steyerl, and others--are producing worldwide. Whether engaging with the aesthetics of technology or the fluid world of politics, their work will influence generations of artists and art lovers to come.
Call Number: N6496.8 .K46 2018
Art Since 1900 : modernism, antimodernism, postmodernism by Hal Foster et al.The authors of Art Since 1900 adopt a unique, year-by-year structure in which they present more than one hundred and twenty short essays, each focusing on crucial events and the creation of a seminal work, the publication of an artistic manifesto, or the opening of a major exhibition that tell the story of the dazzling diversity of practice and interpretation that characterizes art of this period. Each turning point and breakthrough of modernism and postmodernism is explored in depth, as are the frequent anti-modernist reactions that proposed alternative visions of art and the world. Art Since 1900 introduces students to the key theoretical approaches to modern and contemporary art in a way that enables them to comprehend the many "voices" of art in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Call Number: N6490 .A7186 2011 v. 1-2
Color: a visual history from Newton to modern color matching guides by Alexandra LoskeCharts color exploration and expression from the 1600s to the present day through painters' tools, art, ephemera, and literature Throughout history, artists, scientists, and philosophers have attempted to explain and order the visible color spectrum. Color: A Visual History from Newton to Modern Color Matching Guides offers the fascinating history of how color has been recorded, explored, and understood. Using an extraordinary collection of original color material that includes charts, wheels, artists' palettes, and swatches, the book showcases centuries of significant scientific discoveries and artistic exploration. It celebrates the visual quality and beauty of various color theories over time and highlights the creativity of their design and codification. The book showcases everything from fourteenth-century illuminated manuscripts to Moses Harris's The Natural System of Colours (ca. 1769), and from 1814's Werner's Nomenclature of Colours to Paul Klee's color harmonies to highlight the fascinating interactions of science and art. This stunning display of shades, tints, and tones is an authoritative guide for anyone working in the arts, as well as anyone passionate about color in their personal lives, homes, and surroundings.
Call Number: QC494.7 .L67 2019 Art Collection
Conversations about Sculpture by Richard Serra; Hal Foster"The rhythm of the body moving through space has been the motivating source of most of my work."--Richard Serra Drawn from talks between celebrated artist Richard Serra and acclaimed art historian Hal Foster held over a fifteen-year period, this volume offers revelations into Serra's prolific six-decade career and the ideas that have informed his working practice. Conversations about Sculpture is both an intimate look at Serra's life and work, with candid reflections on personal moments of discovery, and a provocative examination of sculptural form from antiquity to today. Serra and Foster explore such subjects as the artist's work in steel mills as a young man; the impact of music, dance, and architecture on his art; the importance of materiality and site specificity to his aesthetic; the controversies and contradictions his work has faced; and his belief in sculpture as experience. They also discuss sources of inspiration--from Donatello and Brancusi to Japanese gardens and Machu Picchu--revealing a history of sculpture across time and culture through the eyes of one of the medium's most brilliant figures. Introduced with an insightful preface by Foster, this probing dialogue is beautifully illustrated with duotone images that bring to life both Serra's work and his key commitments.
Call Number: N6537.S385 A4 2018
The Figure : painting, drawing, and sculpture : contemporary perspectives by Margaret McCann (Editor)INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards -- 2014 GOLD Winner for Art This book is a celebration of figurative art, essential to those interested in both traditional techniques and the latest developments in the art of the figure. An expansive survey of contemporary figurative art, The Figure showcases work by acclaimed artists including Jenny Saville, Eric Fischl, and Will Cotton alongside emerging talents. Artists' texts and essays by distinguished critics, writers, and thinkers chart the evolution of figurative techniques, from the atelier to the use of photography, Photoshop, and 3D-modeling programs. Centered on the renowned New York Academy of Art--where many of the featured artists are alumni or instructors--this collection reflects the institution's mission to instill the rigorous training of past generations within the lively dialogue of the present day. Championed by artists, scholars, and patrons of the arts, including Andy Warhol, since its founding in 1982, the Academy continues to serve as a creative and intellectual center at the vanguard of representational art. With a wealth of imagery displaying some of the finest examples of the genre in all mediums, this richly illustrated volume attests to the enduring appeal of the art of the human figure.
Call Number: N7570 .F553 2014
Machine Art in the Twentieth Century by Andreas Broeckmann"Machine art" is neither a movement nor a genre, but encompasses diverse ways in which artists engage with technical systems. In this book, Andreas Broeckmann examines a variety of twentieth- and early twenty-first-century artworks that articulate people's relationships with machines. In the course of his investigation, Broeckmann traces historical lineages that connect art of different periods, looking for continuities that link works from the end of the century to developments in the 1950s and 1960s and to works by avant-garde artists in the 1910s and 1920s. An art historical perspective, he argues, might change our views of recent works that seem to be driven by new media technologies but that in fact continue a century-old artistic exploration. Broeckmann investigates critical aspects of machine aesthetics that characterized machine art until the 1960s and then turns to specific domains of artistic engagement with technology: algorithms and machine autonomy, looking in particular at the work of the Canadian artist David Rokeby; vision and image, and the advent of technical imaging; and the human body, using the work of the Australian artist Stelarc as an entry point to art that couples the machine to the body, mechanically or cybernetically. Finally, Broeckmann argues that systems thinking and ecology have brought about a fundamental shift in the meaning of technology, which has brought with it a rethinking of human subjectivity. He examines a range of artworks, including those by the Japanese artist Seiko Mikami, whose work exemplifies the shift.
Call Number: N72.T4 B76 2016
Practicable : from participation to interaction in contemporary art by Samuel Bianchini; Erik VerhagenHow are we to understand works of art that are realized with the physical involvement of the viewer? A relationship between a work of art and its audience that is rooted in an experience that is both aesthetic and physical? Today, these works often use digital technologies, but artists have created participatory works since the 1950s. In this book, critics, writers, and artists offer diverse perspectives on this kind of "practicable" art that bridges contemplation and use, discussing and documenting a wide variety of works from the last several decades. The contributors consider both works that are technologically mediated and those that are not, as long as they are characterized by a process of reciprocal exchange. The book offers a historical frame for practicable works, discussing, among other things, the emergence and influence of cybernetics. It examines art movements and tendencies that incorporate participatory strategies; draws on the perspectives of the humanities and sciences; and investigate performance and exhibition. Finally, it presents case studies of key works by artists including and offers interviews with such leading artists and theoreticians as Claire Bishop, Thomas Hirschhorn, Matt Adams of Blast Theory, Seiko Mikami and Bruno Latour. Numerous illustrations of artists and their works accompany the text. ContributorsMatt Adams (Blast Theory), Jean-Christophe Bailly, Samuel Bianchini, Claire Bishop, Jean-Louis Boissier, Nicolas Bourriaud, Christophe Charles, Val#65533;rie Ch#65533;telet, Jean-Pierre Cometti, Sarah Cook, Jordan Crandall, Dominique Cunin, Nathalie Delbard, Anna Dezeuze, Diedrich Diederichsen, Christophe Domino, Larisa Dryansky, Gl#65533;ria Ferreira, Jean-Paul Fourmentraux, Gilles Froger, Masaki Fujihata, Jean Gagnon, Katrin Gattinger, Jochen Gerz, Piero Gilardi, V#65533;ronique Goudinoux, Usman Haque, Helen Evans and Heiko Hansen (HeHe), Jeppe Hein, Thomas Hirschhorn, Marion Hohlfeldt, Pierre-Damien Huyghe, Judith Ickowicz, Eric Kluitenberg, Janet Kraynak, Bruno Latour, Christophe Leclercq, Fr#65533;d#65533;rik Lesage, Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, Peter Lunenfeld, Lawrence Malstaf, Julie Martin, Seiko Mikami, Dominique Moulon, Hiroko Myokam, Ernesto Neto, Mayumi Okura, Eddie Panier, Fran#65533;oise Parfait, Simon Penny, Daniel Pinkas, Chantal Pontbriand, Emanuele Quinz, Margit Rosen, Alberto S#65533;nchez Balmisa, Frederik Schikowski, Arnd Schneider, Madeline Schwartzman, Luke Skrebowski, Vanessa Theodoropoulou, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Andrea Urlberger, Erik Verhagen, Franz Erhard Walther, Peter Weibel, Renate Wiehager, Catherine Wood, Giovanna Zapperi, Anne Zeitz, David Zerbib Edited by Samuel Bianchini and Erik Verhagen with the collaboration of Nathalie Delbard and Larisa Dryansky.
Call Number: N7433.915 .P73 2016
The Primacy of Drawing : histories and theories of practice by Deanna PetherbridgeIn this important and original book, Deanna Petherbridge--herself a practicing artist--affirms the significance of drawing as visual thinking in western art from the 15th century to the present. Scrutinizing a wide range of drawings, Petherbridge confirms a long historical commitment to the primal importance of sketching in generating ideas and problem solving, examines the production of autonomous drawings as gifts or for pleasure, and traces the importance of the life-class and theories of drawing in the training of artists until well into the 20th century. She also addresses the changing role of drawing in relation to contemporary practice and its importance for conceptual artists working in a nonhierarchical manner with a multiplicity of practices, techniques and technologies. In addition to analyzing specific works by Leonardo, Michelangelo, Rembrandt, Goya, Picasso, and other great draftsmen, Petherbridge pays close attention to those artists traditionally regarded as "minor" because of their graphic elaboration or involvement with caricature and play, as well as to the important contribution of women artists in the 20th and 21st centuries. Responding to the vibrant rediscovery of drawing as significant practice in studios, exhibitions, and art schools, Petherbridge proposes an ambitious and novel agenda for the study and enjoyment of drawing.
Call Number: folio NC53 .P48 2010
Pushing paper : contemporary drawing from 1970 to now by Isabel Seligman (Editor)This remarkable exploration of drawing as a medium in resurgence unites a global range of contemporary artists. Subverting its former role as a primarily preparatory medium, drawing is enjoying a resurgence among contemporary artists and students. Pushing paper examines why drawing has not only endured, but continues to thrive as an artistic expression. 56 works, produced between the 1970s and the present day, are used to explore the vital and fundamental nature of drawing. Themes such as place and space, and power and protest, offer new lenses through which to view these major artists. Supported by the Bridget Riley Art Foundation, this book explores the work of the world's most important contemporary artists, including Louise Bourgeois, Judy Chicago, Richard Deacon, Tracey Emin, David Hockney, Anish Kapoor, Anselm Kiefer, Cornelia Parker, Sol LeWitt, Grayson Perry, Bridget Riley, Imran Qureshi, and Rachel Whiteread, as well as exciting works by new and emerging artists, such as Hamid Sulaiman and Rachel Duckhouse. Sure to appeal to admirers of drawing, and to artists and students alike, Pushing paper provides an arresting analysis of the status of drawing in the world of contemporary art.
Call Number: NC95 .P87 2019
Re-Envisioning the Contemporary Art Canon : perspectives in a global world by Ruth E. Iskin (Editor)Re-envisioning the Contemporary Art Canon: Perspectives in a Global World seeks to dissect and interrogate the nature of the present-day art field, which has experienced dramatic shifts in the past 50 years. In discussions of the canon of art history, the notion of #65533;inclusiveness#65533;, both at the level of rhetoric and as a desired practice is on the rise and gradually replacing talk of #65533;exclusion#65533;, which dominated critiques of the canon up until two decades ago. The art field has dramatically, if insufficiently, changed in the half-century since the first protests and critiques of the exclusion of #65533;others#65533; from the art canon. With increased globalization and shifting geopolitics, the art field is expanding beyond its Euro-American focus, as is particularly evident in the large-scale international biennales now held all over the globe. Are canons and counter-canons still relevant? Can they be re-envisioned rather than merely revised? Following an introduction that discusses these issues, thirteen newly commissioned essays present case studies of consecration in the contemporary art field, and three commissioned discussions present diverse positions on issues of the canon and consecration processes today. This volume will be of interest to instructors and students of contemporary art, art history, and museum and curatorial studies.#65533;
Call Number: N72.G55 R48 2017
Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art by Kristine Stiles; Peter SelzFirst published in 1996, this irreplaceable resource has now been updated, revised, and expanded by Kristine Stiles to represent thirty countries and more than one hundred new artists. Stiles has added forty images and a diverse roster of artists, including many who have emerged since the 1980s, such as Julie Mehretu, Carrie Mae Weems, Damien Hirst, Shirin Neshat, Cai Guo-Qian, Olafur Eliasson, Matthew Barney, and Takashi Murakami. The writings, which as before take the form of artists' statements, interviews, and essays, make vivid each artist's aesthetic approach and capture the flavor and intent of his or her work. The internationalism evident in this revised edition reflects the growing interest in the vitality of contemporary art throughout the world from the U.S. and Europe to the Middle East, Asia, Africa, Latin America, and Australia.
Call Number: N6490 .T492 2012
Vitamin T : threads and textiles in contemporary art by Jenelle PorterA global survey of more than 100 artists, chosen by art-world professionals for their work with threads, stitching, and textiles Celebrating tapestry, embroidery, stitching, textiles, knitting, and knotting as used by visual artists worldwide, Vitamin Tis the latest in the celebrated series in which leading curators, critics, and art professionals nominate living artists for inclusion. As boundaries between art and craft have blurred, artists have increasingly embraced these materials and methods, with the resulting works being coveted by collectors and exhibited in museums worldwide. Vitamin Tis a vibrant and incredibly timely survey - the first of its kind.