Skip to Main Content

FRST 290 / FREN 392

This guide is to help guide students with library and web resources for FREN 392: Paris through Literature, Painting, Cinema & Photography (formerly FRST 290 (formerly IDIS 290))

Finding Articles

Journal articles are important sources for your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade. If you are looking for scholarly or peer reviewed articles, you can typically restrict your search results to only peer reviewed journal articles by applying a search limit in the database.

Omni includes articles from the various research databases to which Queen's University Library subscribes but not everything is included. If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

To locate articles on your topic, use an index or a database such as the ones recommended on this guide. 

Tip: If you know the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper you are looking for you can click on the Journal Search tab in Omni to search by title. 

Key Article Indexes for FRST 290/FREN 392

ARTbibliographies Modern

Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention.

MLA International Bibliography

The Modern Languages Association International Bibliography is the most comprehensive index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres, etc. It indexes articles, essays, book chapters, books, and dissertations. 

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text

A bibliographical database that indexes over 560 journals with more than 160 full-text journals, and 160 full-text books.

Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Document types include encyclopedias and trade publications, conference papers, essays, reviews and images. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Historical Abstracts

Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).

Other Useful Indexes

CAIRN

Cairn offers the most comprehensive collection of publications in the French language in the humanities and social sciences available online.

Érudit

Collection of approximately 65 scholarly journals primarily in humanities and social sciences. 

Literature Online

Searchable database of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Also indexes criticism from The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), includes the full text of 104 specialist literature journals, and more...