For detailed information on finding primary sources in the humanities and social sciences go to the
Primary Sources guide.
General Collections
News / Magazines
Government Documents
Official newspaper of the Government of Canada, 1841- to present.
British Parliamentary debates with some coverage of Canada
Digital Book Collections
Digitized primary sources dealing with the exploration and settlement of Early Canada.
Women's Suffrage
Political cartoons ranging from the 1880s to 1950s, about women's suffrage in Canada.
Letters and Diaries
Other Collections of Note
Rise Up! Feminist Archive
The Rise Up! project aims to create a digital archive of original publications, documents, flyers, posters, and many other materials representing feminist activism from the 1970s to 1990s across Canada and Quebec.
The Anarchist Archive at the University of Victoria is devoted to the study of anarchism, with a special focus on the history of the movement in Canada. Collections include documents on Indigenous struggles, anti-war activism, prison abolition, queer politics, and more.
The ArQuives is one of the largest independent LGBTQ2+ archives in the world and the only archive in Canada with a mandate to collect at a national level. Its mandate is to safeguard the LGBTQ2+ history of Canada.
The Nellie McClung Foundation
This archive has collected documents, photos, and quotes related to the history of Nellie McClung and the women's movement in Canada. See also their collected resources for educators (activities and lesson plan ideas).
)