From the biographies on Galileo and Dorothy Hodgkin to the discussions chronicling the change of science from simply a tool of learning to a major force in society, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is the most comprehensive one-volume resource on science from 1550 to the present. Along with chemistry, physics, and biology, the major scientific disciplines are represented in this alphabetically arranged work including astrology, ethnology, and zoology, among many others. General concepts such as gender and science and scientific development are explored along with major time periods that had a tremendous impact on the field including the Enlightenment and Globalization (post-World War II). The coverage is not limited to just one geographical area but is worldwide, tracing science from its traditional centres and explaining how non-western societies have modified and contributed to its global arena. Major divisions of thought including Aristotelianismand mechanical philosophy are also covered as well as an examination of science and its relationship to professional practice and the changing face of disciplines and sub-disciplines. Individual institutions such as CERN and the Third World Academy of Science are explored as well as the epistemology and methodology of scientific knowledge, theoretical constructs, information on apparatus and instruments, the social aspects and responsibilities of science, and the innumerable uses of the appliedsciences. Over 90 biographies bring these fields to life with the stories behind the great achievements. Among the notable scientists are Linus Pauling, Margaret Mead, Niels Bohr, Albert Einstein, and Edwin Hubble. An excellent overview of the field of science and its development over the past few generations, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is an essential resource for students, historians, teachers, scientists, doctors, engineers, and anyone with an interest in themany and varied aspects of science.
From the classic work of Darwin to current developments in such fields as psychology and economics, evolutionary biology is an increasingly powerful tool for understanding the natural world. Here in two volumes is a comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.
* 22 sections cover the entire field of the history of technology and each section summarises the development of its subject from the earliest times to the present day* Written without unnecessary jargon* 2 extensive indexes of Names and Topics* Usefully illustrated with 150 black & white photographs and line drawings to explain key advances`Contain[s] a vast amount of reliable information over a very wide field. It is certainly a work of which I shall myself make frequent use ... it deserves to find a place ... in every reference library.' - Times Higher Education Supplement`The coverage is excellent ... a most valuable single-volume source which for its comprehensiveness and ease of reference will earn its place in both specialist and general reference collections.' - Reference Reviews`Informative and comprehensive, remarkable in its coverage ... covers every aspect of technology from the Stone Age to the Space Age ... will undoubtedly help readers to get a grip on and feel of an enormous range of subjects ... An invaluable and practical addition to most office bookshelves or libraries.' - New Civil Engineer`The authors represented in this book are to be congratulated for their readable and reliable surveys of the past and present status of the major areas where mankind has harnessed science for the production of useful products and processes.' - Choice
The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists is an invaluable one-stop reference book for anyone wanting a quick but reliable account of the life and work of those whose contributions have changed the course of science throughout history. This alphabetically organized, illustrated biographical dictionary covers over 1300 key scientists from more than 38 countries whose work has helped shape modern science. Fields covered include physics, chemistry, biology, geology, astronomy, mathematics, medicine, meteorology and technology - and special attention is paid to those pioneer women whose achievements and example opened the way to scientific careers for their fellow women. Interspersed with illustrations in the form of diagrams, maps and tables, and with special panel features, this book is a clear and accessible guide to the world's prominent scientific personalities.
The only work of its kind, this dictionary is uniquely focused on the history of applied science, including medical and biomedical applications. It contains approximately 3000 detailed and extensively researched entries painstakingly compiled by Dr. Anton Sebastian, respected author of A Dictionary of the History of Medicine. A work of exceptional scholarship totaling some 400 double-column pages it contains many rarely seen illustrations from original sources involving hundreds of books and journals. This dictionary offers special value to scientists, doctors, and students as a marvelous source of hard-to-find, authoritative information about notable scientific figures, inventions, terms and dates, captivating anecdotes, and background material. The entries includes each term's Greek and Latin origins and concise biographies.