Vincent van Gogh, Irises, 1869. (Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program)
Many libraries, archives, museums and other organizations make their collections available online, mainly for scholarly and research purposes. But always check the licensing/terms of use of the image before using the image in your work.
Historical advertisements -- images printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1955 -- drawn from Duke UniversityLibrary's Archives. Main subject areas: radio, TV, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
The DCU "fosters the creation of and access to research and scholarly material in digital form from across the University of Minnesota."
Europeana Collections
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections,
Getty Search Gateway
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Hosted by Library and Archives Canada, Images Canada allows users to search images from participating cultural institutions from across Canada.
Search historic images from the 1850s to 1970's. Hosted by Google. Search Tip: Add "source:life" to any Google image search and search only the LIFE photo archive. For example:
computer source:life
An online archive of 275,000 images, available to the public for free. Includes Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, and photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes.
Digital images, text, audio and video materials about Ontario history, heritage and culture.
A repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries, with Phase One of the project focusing on visual materials, including digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, and manuscripts.
Provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. Global coverage.
