Research Guides: Indigenous Health: Databases

Indigenous Health Databases

Native Health Database
The Native Health Database is comprised of articles, reports, and other resources discussing health information as it relates to North American Indigenous people
ARTIS
The purpose of the Arctic Science and Technology Information System is to make information about northern Canada more accessible. The ASTIS database covers all subjects and contains two types of information: citations to publications and descriptions of research projects.
Arctic Health Publications Database
The Arctic Health Publications Database comprises articles, reports, and grey literature relating to the health of individuals in the Arctic
Native American Ethnobotany Database
Native American Ethnobotany Database contains information on plant-based food, medicines, dyes, and textiles used by Indigenous poeple

Indigenous Databases

These databases can be searched using keywords such as "health", "cancer", or "medicine" to retrieve Indigenous health-related information.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous Peoples in North American culture, history, and life.
This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Includes citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Content range covers sixteenth century through the present. Earliest indexed publication is from 1890; some coverage throughout 20th century; majority of the collection was published after 1990.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indigenous publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
More Information

Date Coverage: 17th century - present.

Health Databases

These databases can be searched with keywords such as "indigenous", "aboriginal", "first nations", or "native american" to retrieve Indigenous health-related informtaion.

CINAHL and Pre-CINAHL
CINAHL provides indexing for more than 6,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 8 million records, offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included.

Bracken Library Database Highlight: CINAHL:

https://youtu.be/UAnQfrw0Acg?si=wr3IH5GMyEV0R8_m

Date Coverage: 1981 - very recent articles
EMBASE
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 45 million records from over 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts, and indexing derived from articles in peer reviewed journals, articles in preprint servers medRxiv and bioRxiv, and abstracts and papers from over 15,000 conferences. Embase has especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Date Coverage: 1947 - present
MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE database contains more than 38 million references to biomedical and life sciences literature. The primary component of Ovid MEDLINE is MEDLINE, which is produced by the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. and contains more than 31 million references from over 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. In addition to MEDLINE content, Ovid MEDLINE includes citations that are being processed for MEDLINE, citations that are out-of-scope from MEDLINE journals, "ahead of print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE journal, and more.

The same content in Ovid MEDLINE can also be searched in PubMed.

Bracken Library Database Highlight: Ovid MEDLINE
Date Coverage: 1946 to Present
Natural Medicines
Natural Medicines is an authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Natural Medicines contains clinically relevant, bottom-line-focused information and ratings in their evidence-based natural ingredient monographs.
PubMed
PubMed is a free literature database that contains more than 38 million references to biomedical and life sciences literature. The primary component of PubMed is MEDLINE, which is produced by the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. and contains more than 31 million references from over 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. In addition to MEDLINE content, PubMed includes citations that are being processed for MEDLINE, citations that are out-of-scope from MEDLINE journals, "ahead of print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE journal, and more. Mobile access is available for PubMed.

The same content in PubMed can also be searched in Ovid MEDLINE .

Bracken Library Database Highlight: CINAHL

Date Coverage: 1946 – present

General Databases

These databases can be searched by combining terms for Indigenous peoples AND terms for health care to retrieve Indigenous health-related information.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database which provides indexing (with abstracts) to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.
Approximately 50% of the journal titles also contain the full-text of articles.

Date Coverage: 1865 - present
Education Source
It encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Date Coverage: Dating back to 1929
ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), published by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, is a database of citations with abstracts and other pertinent data related to teaching and research in education, complemented by links to more than 200,000 full-text non-journal documents. Coverage includes: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials.
We are closely following developments with the Department of Education in the Unites States including reported cancellations of contracts at the Institute of Education Sciences (IES). The licensed version of ERIC that we subscribe to at Queen's University (via EbsoHost) remains available for the Queen's community. Similarly, the library’s current subscriptions to education databases, individual journals, and articles, remain unchanged. Please contact education.library@queensu.ca if you have any questions.