Intellectual Property

This text provides an accessible approach to understanding and researching intellectual property issues in copyright, trademark, patent, industrial design, and the law of confidentiality as well as more specialized fields. In-depth coverage of complementary areas of law, such as restrictive covenants, privacy, and domain names, are also included.

Taking an interdisciplinary approach, this thoughtful Handbook considers the international struggle to provide for proper and just protection of Indigenous intellectual property (IP).

Historically, Indigenous artistic, cultural, and societal expression has been identified and examined within Canadian or international legal regimes. This book identifies Indigenous intellectual property concerns as an Indigenous legal issue to be taken seriously within specific Indigenous legal orders.

This publication, prepared under the aegis of the WIPO Creative Heritage Project by two external consultants, offers legal information and compiles practical experiences on the management of intellectual property for cultural institutions whose collections comprise traditional cultural expressions. It seeks to respond directly to the needs of cultural institutions and indigenous and traditional communities dealing with the preservation, safeguarding and protection of cultural heritage.

This monograph provides a survey and analysis of the rules concerning intellectual property rights in Canada. It covers every type of intellectual property right in depth- copyright and neighbouring rights, patents, utility models, trademarks, trade names, industrial designs, plant variety protection, chip protection, trade secrets, and confidential information.

This text examines the Canadian law on trade secrets and confidential information in all of its relevant domestic contexts, including the unique approaches of both the common law and civil law, relevant procedural considerations, criminal and national security dimensions of the law, and access to information frameworks.

A comprehensive overview of intellectual property law, this handbook covers topics such as the foundations of IP law; its emergence and development in various jurisdictions; its rules and principles; and current issues arising from the existence and operation of IP law in a political economy.

Drawing together rich perspectives on intellectual property law around the world, this Research Handbook provides new insights on the traditional issues of moral rights and analyses more recent challenges in copyright law, patent law, and trademark law.