The authors cover the key international institutions and agreements that regulate and inform intellectual property at an international level such as the TRIPS Agreement, WIPO, WTO, the Paris Convention and the Berne Convention.
This text not only demonstrates the significance of the IP system, but also shows how IP has developed and how it has influenced history. Each object explored is at the core of a story that will be appreciated by anyone interested in how great innovations offer a unique window into our past, present, and future.
This collection of essays highlights the sometimes absurd outcomes which an unjustified overprotection of intellectual property (IP) may lead to. From individuals being sued for hundreds of thousands of dollars for sharing a playlist, to sports spectators being arrested for wearing the 'wrong' dresses, passing through granting patents for inventions obtained by misappropriating traditional knowledge, and trademark protection of merely descriptive signs, this book brings together a broad range of examples from across the IP spectrum where protection and enforcement have been used or threatened on unreasonable and/or untenable grounds.
This monograph provides a survey and analysis of the rules concerning intellectual property rights in Canada. It covers every type of intellectual property right in depth- copyright and neighbouring rights, patents, utility models, trademarks, trade names, industrial designs, plant variety protection, chip protection, trade secrets, and confidential information.
"Trade secrets and confidential commercial information are information-based assets that are not widely known and which have value from not being widely known, and which have been the subject of reasonable steps to maintain and continue their secrecy. Today they pertain to some of the most important assets in the digital and knowledge economies. In this timely overview of the law, this text examines the Canadian law on trade secrets and confidential information in all of its relevant domestic contexts, including the unique approaches of both the common law and civil law, relevant procedural considerations, criminal and national security dimensions of the law, and access to information frameworks.
While intellectual property rights are mostly studied in isolation, in practice the legal categories created to protect these rights provide only partial legal coverage of the broader context in which such rights are created, used, and enforced. Consequently, often multiple IP rights overlap with respect to the same underlying subject matter. This book enables readers to consider how these overlapping rights work together, facilitating a deeper understanding of how and when they may be encountered in practice. While the focus of these IP rights is on UK, US and European law, the book also contains comparison tables of overlapping IP rights in other countries around the world.
Also in print: K1401 .O94 2018 LAW (Reserve).
A comprehensive overview of intellectual property law, this handbook will be a vital read for all invested in the field of IP law. Topics include the foundations of IP law; its emergence and development in various jurisdictions; its rules and principles; and current issues arising from the existence and operation of IP law in a political economy.
This book examines moral rights since their establishment in the 19th century and considers the roles they play in the 21st century in relation to the technological environment in which copyright exists. Drawing together rich perspectives on intellectual property law around the world, this Research Handbook provides new insights on the traditional issues of moral rights and analyses more recent challenges in copyright law, patent law, and trademark law.