Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior Civics

Video

 

Canadian Parliamentary Democracy Must-See

House of Commons

Created in 2016, appropriate for ages 9-14, these 12 titles explain how Canada's democracy works and how an election is won. With downloadable Teacher Guides.

"This collection presents an overview of Canada's parliamentary system. Students will gain insight into the role of Members of Parliament and the basic structure and functions of the House of Commons and Senate.

We also examine some of the more recent hot-button issues in Canadian parliamentary life, including calls to address what some perceive as a “democratic deficit”, whether by means of Senate reform, coalition governments, or changes to Canada’s electoral system, such as introducing proportional representation." Includes videos and teacher guides.

Curio
Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material.  Includes English and French language content. Access to all Queen’s users includes additional content beyond what is available on the open web.
News in Review: a series from The National, find it under channels at Curio. Includes a series on Civics topics, such as: Terrorism in Canada: Are We Safe?Do Our Cities Still Work?Vaccines: Pass or Fail?Drones: Military or Mainstream?​Syrian Refugees: A Humanitarian Crisis,  Sony HackAnger and Authority in the United StatesFirst Nations Land DisputesOur Canada: Are We Racist?Canada and China Relations.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and social sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.

Passwords

 

  

Teacher Candidates have access to many video-streaming collections. Some are password-protected for use by the Faculty of Education only. Others are licensed for the entire Queen's campus. All passwords for Teacher Candidates and Concurrent Education Students are an encrypted Passwords file. The password to open this file was distributed via the TC list. For help, ask at the library, email education.library@queensu.ca, or call 613 533-2191.

DVDs