Research Guides: Intermediate Senior First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Studies: First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Governance in Canada (NDG4M)

Lesson Plans

Anishinabek Nation Lesson Plans This webpage has lesson plans on the cost of treaties and exploring treaties in Ontario in both English and French, as well as the treaties themselves. Videos and news stories have page numbers that correspond to the lesson plans. This page also includes an order form for various kits and other resources available for purchase.
Early Treaties Map From Centennial College, click the plus signs on the map to get information on the pre-Confederation treaties signed in Canada.
Indigenous - Settler Political Relations in Canada: An Overview This lesson plan explores questions of Indigenous - Settler identity constructions and political relations. Students will also be given additional learning resources so they can research topics of interest in more detail. Meets curriculum expectations for Ontario.
National Centre for Collaboration in Indigenous Education: Lesson Plans The NCCIE Teaching Resource Centre has lesson plans for many subjects and all grade levels. Browse by subject, grade, province or territory, or use your own search terms. Also includes professional development resources.

Videos

Leading Indigenous activists, thinkers, and community organizers - including Harold Cardinal, Walter Dieter, Mary Ann Lavallee and Duke Redbird - have a frank conversation about the broken relationship between the Government of Canada and Indigenous people. Taking place in 1967, the discussion remains deeply resonant today, where the same issues persist.

In July 1990, a dispute over a proposed golf course to be built on Kanien’kéhaka (Mohawk) lands in Oka, Quebec, set the stage for a historic confrontation that would grab international headlines and sear itself into the Canadian consciousness.
Contains scenes of violence. Includes discussion questions.

Websites

Centre for First Nations Governance The Centre for First Nations Governance is an organization dedicated to transitioning First Nations from the Indian Act to their own concept of self-governance. The documents on this site are geared specifically to First Nations transitioning, but many of them are useful for demonstrating to students what self-governance looks like.
Self-Government From the Government of Canada website, this page provides a brief overview of self-governance.
Queen's Aboriginal Law & Indigenous Laws Guide This library guide is directed at law students at Queen's, but many of the resources are great for classroom discussion or for professional development.

Quick Links

Indigenous Literatures and the ELA Classroom

Podcasts

Unreserved: What it Means to be an Elder In this episode of Unreserved, we invite you to sit and learn with us in the Elders Circle. Six elders from Mi'kmaq, Wolastoqey and Passamaquoddy communities in New Brunswick share their stories - about their life, the work they do, and the change they're bringing for their people.

First Contact

First Contact This documentary series takes a group of six non-Indigenous Canadians with strong opinions on Indigenous people and immerses them into Indigenous Canada for the first time, where their beliefs are confronted.

Video Collections

APTN Videos Videos from APTN News. Limit your search by topic (at the top) to find the most relevant videos for your needs.
NFB Indigenous Cinema The NFB's Indigenous Cinema page. Select a subject to get started, or browse by film or director. Remember to sign in to get access to campus resources like teacher materials and the ability to make chapters.
Curio CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.
National Film Board Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.
Criterion on Demand A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.
On-Core A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.
TVO in the Classroom Search and limit by grade to find TV clips and articles relevant to teaching misinformation. Some materials are good for use in the classroom, while others are good for teacher education.

Historic Documents

Note: some of the terminology used in these reports is offensive and representative of the time they were written in. If you are going to bring these reports into your classroom, read them thoroughly beforehand and be mindful of language used. Download this free terminology guide for guidance.

Indian Act Current to March 22, 2022 Last amended on August 15, 2019
Consolidation of Indian Legislation Volume II: Indian Acts and Amendments, 1868-1975
Statement of the Government of Canada on Indian Policy (1969) Also known as The Indian Policy White Paper.
Citizens Plus Also known as the Red Paper. Presented by the Indian Association of Alberta in 1970, as a counter to the White Paper.