Research Guides: Intermediate Senior Media and Digital Literacy: Lesson Plans

Lesson Plans

Authentication Beyond the Classroom
From Media Smarts, this lesson seeks to improve students' critical thinking skills. They will discuss viral photos, videos, and news stories, while being shown how difficult it is to authenticate these materials. They will be introduced to tools and techniques for determining accuracy. For grades 9 and 10.
Digital Media Literacy Framework - Grades 7-8
This framework draws on nine topics of digital media literacy and provides teachers with lessons and interactive activities that are linked to curriculum outcomes for each province and territory.
Digital Media Literacy Framework - Grades 9-12
This framework draws on nine topics of digital media literacy and provides teachers with lessons and interactive activities that are linked to curriculum outcomes for each province and territory.
How to teach your students about fake news
From PBS, this lesson will give students the skills they need to spot fake news. For grades 7-12.
Activity: Teaching Teachers to be Wolves in a "Fake News" World
From AISL, this includes a lesson and activity about critical thinking and spotting fake news.
News Literacy Collection
From LesPlan Educational Services, this collection includes various lessons and activities to help students in grades 5-12 determine what is false information and what is real news.
LesPlan Free Downloads
On this page you'll find free articles and activities from recent issues of The Canadian Reader, What in the World?, and Building Bridges. All three journals focus on current events for education.
Decoding Media Bias
From PBS, this lesson plan has students watch the film "MediOcracy," then examine news stories and how they are covered by three major news outlets. Students will examine news stories for bias/point of view.
Hoax or No Hoax? Strategies for Online Comprehension and Evaluation
From Read Write Think (NCTE) this lesson improves digital and media comprehension strategies. Students will learn the strategies, then look at hoax websites and evaluate their content. Lastly, they show their learning by creating outlines for hoax websites. For grades 9-12.

Lesson Plans for English Teachers

Wikipedia: Friend, Not Foe
This journal article discusses ways to teach about Wikipedia, and potential Wikipedia assignments for English classes.

Lesson Plans for Math Teachers

Math in the News
This article from Education World discusses ways to connect current events to math lessons.

Rethinking Mathematics by Eric Gutstein (Editor); Bob Peterson (Editor) In this unique collection, more than 30 articles show how to weave social justice issues throughout the mathematics curriculum, as well as how to integrate mathematics into other curricular areas. Rethinking Mathematics offers teaching ideas, lesson plans, and reflections by practitioners and mathematics educators. This is real-world math-math that helps students analyze problems as they gain essential academic skills. This book offers hope and guidance for teachers to enliven and strengthen their math teaching. It will deepen students' understanding of society and help prepare them to be critical, active participants in a democracy. Blending theory and practice, this is the only resource of its kind.
Call Number: Teaching Collection teach QA10.7 .R47 2006
ISBN: 0942961544
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Lesson Plans for Social Studies Teachers

Bias in News Sources
From Media Smarts, this lesson discusses the concept of bias and prejudice, and helps students to discern the level of bias in the media they consume. Includes handouts and overheads in a PDF file. For grades 9-12.

Quick Links

Browse the Shelves Guide

Browse Lesson Plans

Media Smarts - Find Lessons and Resources
Filter resources by grade, topic, and resource type to get the most relevant materials for your classroom.
Read Write Think - Media Literacy
From the National Council of Teachers of English, Read Write Think's Media Literacy collection offers many lesson plans for any subject or grade level.
Curio - Fake News and Disinformation
This collection includes videos, lesson plans, and activities to help students protect themselves from fake news and disinformation.
All About Explorers
This site was created by teachers to demonstrate to their students that inaccurate information on the Internet can sometimes be hard to discern. While some things listed on this site are fact or based in fact, there are inaccuracies and lies listed throughout. Check out the For Teachers section for resources for use in the classroom.
Digital Citizenship Lesson Plans
Browse free digital literacy lessons for students K-12.

Lesson Plans in the Library

Five Key Questions that can Change the World by Jeff Share (Associate Editor); Elizabeth Thoman (Editor); Tessa Jolls (Consultant Editor) A CML MediaLit Kit, includes 25 lesson plans for K-12 Media Literacy.
Call Number: Books (Education) P91.3 .S53t 2007
ISBN: 9781879419193
Publication Date: 2005-01-01