Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry and Argumentation by
If we're to help ensure our students achieve scientific literacy, we need to take a critical look at what's working and what isn't. One thing we know for certain: inquiry and argumentation are key, and the single-best resource on the subject is Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry and Argumentation. Devoted to Grades 9-12, this new edition of Douglas Llewellyn's ground-breaking text aligns the four key elements of effective science education: scientific literacy, inquiry, argumentation, and the nature of science.
The Art of Teaching Science by
The Art of Teaching Science emphasizes a humanistic, experiential, and constructivist approach to teaching and learning, and integrates a wide variety of pedagogical tools. Becoming a science teacher is a creative process, and this innovative textbook encourages students to construct ideas about science teaching through their interactions with peers, mentors, and instructors, and through hands-on, minds-on activities designed to foster a collaborative, thoughtful learning environment. This second edition retains key features such as inquiry-based activities and case studies throughout, while simultaneously adding new material on the impact of standardized testing on inquiry-based science, and explicit links to science teaching standards. Also included are expanded resources like a comprehensive website, a streamlined format and updated content, making the experiential tools in the book even more useful for both pre- and in-service science teachers. Special Features: Each chapter is organized into two sections: one that focuses on content and theme; and one that contains a variety of strategies for extending chapter concepts outside the classroom Case studies open each chapter to highlight real-world scenarios and to connect theory to teaching practice Contains 33 Inquiry Activities that provide opportunities to explore the dimensions of science teaching and increase professional expertise Problems and Extensions, On the Web Resources and Readings guide students to further critical investigation of important concepts and topics. An extensive companion website includes even more student and instructor resources, such as interviews with practicing science teachers, articles from the literature, chapter PowerPoint slides, syllabus helpers, additional case studies, activities, and more. Visit http://www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415965286 to access this additional material.
Teaching Science for Understanding by
Teaching Middle and High School Science for Understanding: A Practical Guide for Teachers provides a theoretical and practical introduction to teaching science for understanding and application. The book is grounded in a new paradigm for science education that is consistent with the Project 2061, National Science Education Standards and reform programs in many states. It is based on formal research and on experiences of teachers who have been successful in transforming their classrooms from traditional forms of instruction to an environment where students learn to understand science and apply it in their own lives. The author's experience in classrooms, and with practicing teachers in the U.S. and in several other nations, add richness to this book as a resource for helping teachers improve their professional effectiveness. The author demonstrates science teaching through three different levels of learning activities: building students' base of information developing understanding applying knowledge Each chapter guides you through the type of planning and instruction you will need to create a constructivist environment in your classroom, providing you with specific activities and examples to illustrate how you can teach science for understanding.
Differentiating Assessment in Middle and High School Mathematics and Science by
This book by Sheryn Spencer Waterman follows the bestselling Handbook on Differentiated Instruction for Middle and High Schools. With numerous examples and strategies, it is an all-inclusive manual on assessing student readiness, interests, learning and thinking styles. It includes examples of: Pre-, Formative and Summative assessments -Informal and formal assessments -Oral and written assessments -Project and performance assessments -Highly structured and enrichment assessments for struggling to gifted students -Assessment tools and rubrics
Dive in! Immersion in Science Practices for High School Students by
What is it really like to plunge into the world of science learning and teaching? Find out in this unique book. Dive In! grew out of a teacher-scientist project at the University of New Hampshire that promoted active learning and using science practices in the classroom. That experience yielded this book's reason for being: to provide detailed examples of how veteran teachers and their students can make the leap to implementing the recommendations of A Framework for K-12 Science Education and the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). These features add to the book's instructional value: Detailed vignettes offer authentic perspectives about conducting student investigations and integrating science practices that support the NGSS. Field-tested learning activities accompany many of the vignettes and illustrate a range of investigations you can adopt or adapt, regardless of your grade level or science content focus. A science practice integration (SPI) toolkit will be useful whether you're already swimming in SPI instruction or just want to dip a toe in. You will learn how to modify existing lesson plans to immerse your students in more science practices. If you need help with SPI's challenges, you can turn to a handy trouble-shooting guide that outlines concerns and offers potential solutions. Written from an authentic teacher perspective, Dive In! presents a realistic picture of the successes and challenges of integrating NGSS science practices into your classroom. This book is the resource you need to help students shift from only knowing about science to actually investigating and making sense of it. Jump in with both feet!
Resources for Environmental Literacy by
Resources for Environmental Literacy offers a fresh way to enhance your classroom productivity. The environmental context it provides can improve students' science learning. The modules offer appropriate teaching strategies plus high-quality resources to deepen your students' understanding of key environmental topics.
Environmental Science for Grades 6-12 by
Apply high-quality project-based learning strategies to create lessons and units that help students solve a variety of urgent environmental problems. Environmental science (ES) education is essential to preparing today's students for the future. We must create opportunities for hands-on investigations that explore complex environmental problems in order to find solutions and meet the challenges of our changing world. Educators looking to bring ES-focused experiences to their students can turn to technology and social-emotional learning (SEL) strategies to connect students with real-world situations and citizen science opportunities, while fostering empathy and a love for the natural world. Project-based learning (PBL), with its emphasis on inquiry and authentic challenges, can be an effective approach to teaching ES. Those new to PBL may not feel they have adequate training. Likewise, teachers who haven't taught ES may question how to incorporate it into their curriculum. This book addresses both situations, providing practical guidance for teachers, along with examples of technology-rich, learner-centered student projects addressing timely topics such as sustainability, human impact and climate change. This book: Helps teachers design learning experiences that model authentic problems and processes practiced by scientists and engineers, to prepare students for future careers in science. Addresses diversity, equity and inclusion in ES, and shares resources and strategies for addressing racial equity in ES. Introduces facilitation techniques that redefine the teacher's traditional role as one that supports increased student agency, the development of critical thinking skills and an expanded awareness of their place in the global community. Includes a chapter that focuses on applying the principles and strategies shared in the book in an online learning environment. Addresses Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) topics in environmental science and is aligned to the ISTE Standards for Educators. PBL is one of the best ways for students to explore complex processes and concepts, and this book will help teachers leverage this approach to empower students to take action toward a better future and world. Audience: 6-12 science educators, instructional coaches, preservice teachers
Photographic Atlas of the Body by
A dramatic pictorial tour. The desire to see and understand the inner workings of our bodies starts at an early age. The curiosity to glimpse what happens inside the body's systems, organs and even the brain is a continuing scientific quest. The magnificent illustrations in Photographic Atlas of the Body are created by imaging technologies and the latest scientific methods. Dramatic close-up photography of human anatomy is combined with clear, descriptive text to explain the human body's functions and inner workings. The images of Photographic Atlas of the Body are organized in five major sections: Imaging Techniques Cells Biological systems Tissues Brain and Senses. Each section opens with a clearly written introductory essay. Vivid, full-page images follow, each with a simple pictogram identifying the location and concise captions explaining the body part's function and significance. Sixteen types of imaging instruments and techniques are explained including: X-ray and radioactive (Barium meal) CAT scan MRI, SEM, TEM, NMR Optical and microscopy Acoustic and ultrasound. Each of these methods creates a unique portrait of the unseen world within each of us. Photographic Atlas of the Body is a valuable guide to, and reference for, the internal workings of the body.
Human Biology Activities Kit by
This collection of over 200 classroom-tested activities and reproducible worksheets for students in grades 7 through 12 covers vital concepts in human biology and health, including extensive coverage of AIDS. These high-interest lessons and worksheets get students actively involved in learning-even students who are poorly motivated, learning disabled, or who lack English proficiency. The lessons are written so you can easily accommodate your students' various learning styles whether it's visual, auditory, and tactile. Each lesson helps students make connections between new material and concepts they're already familiar with. The book features 11 units, covering all the body's systems-such as circulatory, digestive, and immune systems, and offers a detailed look at cells, bones, muscles, and more. Each unit provides enjoyable, hands-on activities that engage secondary students-from building a cell model and testing foods for carbohydrates to dissecting a frog and making an action cartoon of a macrophage battling a microorganism. For convenience, the lessons are printed in a big, spiral-bound format that folds flat for photocopying.
The Stomach and Digestive System by
A detailed series about all aspects of the human body and how the body works. The text combines clearly written text with stunning new realistic and accurate anatomical artwork by Michael Courtney. This art is combined with photographs that together explain how each system in the body functions and how illnesses are diagnosed and treated. Also included is a look at how diet, nutrition, fitness -- modern lifestyles -- affect our bodies.
The Lungs and Respiratory System by 
Performing Science by
How to increase students' interest and engagement in science is a challenge shared by teachers around the world. Designing effective science lesson plans using drama and role play requires expertise across two very different subject areas and, as a consequence, many science teachers find it difficult to incorporate this technique into their teaching. This book provides busy teachers with ready-made lesson plans for teaching many abstract scientific principles in a fun and novel way that really engages students.
Braiding Sweetgrass by
As a botanist, Robin Wall Kimmerer has been trained to ask questions of nature with the tools of science. As a member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation, she embraces the notion that plants and animals are our oldest teachers. In Braiding Sweetgrass, Kimmerer brings these two lenses of knowledge together to take us on "a journey that is every bit as mythic as it is scientific, as sacred as it is historical, as clever as it is wise" (Elizabeth Gilbert). Drawing on her life as an indigenous scientist, and as a woman, Kimmerer shows how other living beings--asters and goldenrod, strawberries and squash, salamanders, algae, and sweetgrass--offer us gifts and lessons, even if we've forgotten how to hear their voices. In reflections that range from the creation of Turtle Island to the forces that threaten its flourishing today, she circles toward a central argument: that the awakening of ecological consciousness requires the acknowledgment and celebration of our reciprocal relationship with the rest of the living world. For only when we can hear the languages of other beings will we be capable of understanding the generosity of the earth, and learn to give our own gifts in return.
You can have students read passages from Braiding Sweetgrass in conjunction with Traditional Ecological Knowledge teachings.
- Learning the Grammar of Animacy (pg. 55-59: "To whom does our language extend...")
- Asters and Goldenrod (pg. 45-47: "He was right about beauty...")
- The Council of Pecans (pg. 12-13: "The word pecan...) (pg. 16: "Forest scientists...")
- People of Corn, People of Light (pg 344-347: "So how then, can science, art, and story give us a new lens...")
STAO-APSO
Includes classroom resources as well as resources for professional development. Login information can be found on the password page.
Biologie en 30 secondes : Les 50 théories les plus fascinantes sur le vivant, expliquées en moins d'une minute by