Intermediate Senior Science - Grades 9-10

McGraw-Hill Ryerson ON Science 9 by Leesa Blake This textbook supports the 2008 Ontario science curriculum. Also available as an ebook.

McGraw-Hill Ryerson ON Science 9, Teacher's Resource by Randy J. Attwood Corresponding teacher's guide for ON Science 9. Also available as an ebook.

Nelson Science Perspectives 9 by Charmain Barker This textbook supports the 2008 Ontario science curriculum.

Nelson Science Perspectives 9, Teacher's Guide by Maurice DiGiuseppe Corresponding teacher's guide for Nelson Science Perspectives 9.

Pearson Investigating Science 9 by Lionel Sander, Clayton Ellis This textbook supports the 2008 Ontario science curriculum. Also available as an ebook.

Pearson Investigating Science 9, Teacher's Resource by Lionel Sander, Clayton Ellis This textbook supports the 2008 Ontario science curriculum. Also available as an ebook.

Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry and Argumentation by Douglas J. Llewellyn If we're to help ensure our students achieve scientific literacy, we need to take a critical look at what's working and what isn't. One thing we know for certain: inquiry and argumentation are key, and the single-best resource on the subject is Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry and Argumentation. Devoted to Grades 9-12, this new edition of Douglas Llewellyn's ground-breaking text aligns the four key elements of effective science education: scientific literacy, inquiry, argumentation, and the nature of science.

The Art of Teaching Science by Jack Hassard; Michael Dias The Art of Teaching Science emphasizes a humanistic, experiential, and constructivist approach to teaching and learning, and integrates a wide variety of pedagogical tools. Becoming a science teacher is a creative process, and this innovative textbook encourages students to construct ideas about science teaching through their interactions with peers, mentors, and instructors, and through hands-on, minds-on activities designed to foster a collaborative, thoughtful learning environment. This second edition retains key features such as inquiry-based activities and case studies throughout, while simultaneously adding new material on the impact of standardized testing on inquiry-based science, and explicit links to science teaching standards.  Also included are expanded resources like a comprehensive website, a streamlined format and updated content, making the experiential tools in the book even more useful for both pre- and in-service science teachers. Special Features: Each chapter is organized into two sections: one that focuses on content and theme; and one that contains a variety of strategies for extending chapter concepts outside the classroom Case studies open each chapter to highlight real-world scenarios and to connect theory to teaching practice Contains 33 Inquiry Activities that provide opportunities to explore the dimensions of science teaching and increase professional expertise Problems and Extensions, On the Web Resources and Readings guide students to further critical investigation of important concepts and topics. An extensive companion website includes even more student and instructor resources, such as interviews with practicing science teachers, articles from the literature, chapter PowerPoint slides, syllabus helpers, additional case studies, activities, and more. Visit http://www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415965286 to access this additional material.

Teaching Science for Understanding by James J. Gallagher Teaching Middle and High School Science for Understanding: A Practical Guide for Teachers provides a theoretical and practical introduction to teaching science for understanding and application. The book is grounded in a new paradigm for science education that is consistent with the Project 2061, National Science Education Standards and reform programs in many states. It is based on formal research and on experiences of teachers who have been successful in transforming their classrooms from traditional forms of instruction to an environment where students learn to understand science and apply it in their own lives. The author's experience in classrooms, and with practicing teachers in the U.S. and in several other nations, add richness to this book as a resource for helping teachers improve their professional effectiveness.   The author demonstrates science teaching through three different levels of learning activities: building students' base of information developing understanding applying knowledge Each chapter guides you through the type of planning and instruction you will need to create a constructivist environment in your classroom, providing you with specific activities and examples to illustrate how you can teach science for understanding. 

Differentiating Assessment in Middle and High School Mathematics and Science by Sheryn Spencer-Waterman This book by Sheryn Spencer Waterman follows the bestselling Handbook on Differentiated Instruction for Middle and High Schools. With numerous examples and strategies, it is an all-inclusive manual on assessing student readiness, interests, learning and thinking styles. It includes examples of: Pre-, Formative and Summative assessments -Informal and formal assessments -Oral and written assessments -Project and performance assessments -Highly structured and enrichment assessments for struggling to gifted students -Assessment tools and rubrics

Dive in! Immersion in Science Practices for High School Students by Lara Gengarelly (Editor); Karen J. Graham; Barbara Hopkins (Editor); Melissa Lombard (Editor) What is it really like to plunge into the world of science learning and teaching? Find out in this unique book. Dive In! grew out of a teacher-scientist project at the University of New Hampshire that promoted active learning and using science practices in the classroom. That experience yielded this book's reason for being: to provide detailed examples of how veteran teachers and their students can make the leap to implementing the recommendations of A Framework for K-12 Science Education and the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). These features add to the book's instructional value: Detailed vignettes offer authentic perspectives about conducting student investigations and integrating science practices that support the NGSS. Field-tested learning activities accompany many of the vignettes and illustrate a range of investigations you can adopt or adapt, regardless of your grade level or science content focus. A science practice integration (SPI) toolkit will be useful whether you're already swimming in SPI instruction or just want to dip a toe in. You will learn how to modify existing lesson plans to immerse your students in more science practices. If you need help with SPI's challenges, you can turn to a handy trouble-shooting guide that outlines concerns and offers potential solutions. Written from an authentic teacher perspective, Dive In! presents a realistic picture of the successes and challenges of integrating NGSS science practices into your classroom. This book is the resource you need to help students shift from only knowing about science to actually investigating and making sense of it. Jump in with both feet!

Resources for Environmental Literacy by Environmental Literacy Council (Contribution by); National Science Teachers Association (Contribution by) Resources for Environmental Literacy offers a fresh way to enhance your classroom productivity. The environmental context it provides can improve students' science learning. The modules offer appropriate teaching strategies plus high-quality resources to deepen your students' understanding of key environmental topics.

Environmental Science for Grades 6-12 by Jorge Valenzuela Apply high-quality project-based learning strategies to create lessons and units that help students solve a variety of urgent environmental problems. Environmental science (ES) education is essential to preparing today's students for the future. We must create opportunities for hands-on investigations that explore complex environmental problems in order to find solutions and meet the challenges of our changing world. Educators looking to bring ES-focused experiences to their students can turn to technology and social-emotional learning (SEL) strategies to connect students with real-world situations and citizen science opportunities, while fostering empathy and a love for the natural world. Project-based learning (PBL), with its emphasis on inquiry and authentic challenges, can be an effective approach to teaching ES. Those new to PBL may not feel they have adequate training. Likewise, teachers who haven't taught ES may question how to incorporate it into their curriculum. This book addresses both situations, providing practical guidance for teachers, along with examples of technology-rich, learner-centered student projects addressing timely topics such as sustainability, human impact and climate change. This book: Helps teachers design learning experiences that model authentic problems and processes practiced by scientists and engineers, to prepare students for future careers in science. Addresses diversity, equity and inclusion in ES, and shares resources and strategies for addressing racial equity in ES. Introduces facilitation techniques that redefine the teacher's traditional role as one that supports increased student agency, the development of critical thinking skills and an expanded awareness of their place in the global community. Includes a chapter that focuses on applying the principles and strategies shared in the book in an online learning environment. Addresses Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) topics in environmental science and is aligned to the ISTE Standards for Educators. PBL is one of the best ways for students to explore complex processes and concepts, and this book will help teachers leverage this approach to empower students to take action toward a better future and world. Audience: 6-12 science educators, instructional coaches, preservice teachers

Teaching Green - the High School Years by Tim Grant (Editor); Gail Littlejohn (Editor) This resource is ideal for anyone working with young people in grades 9-12, whether in schools or in non-formal educational settings. Richly illustrated, it offers 50 teaching strategies that promote learning about natural systems and foster critical thinking about environmental issues, both local and global. It contains new approaches to learning, strategies for living sustainably, and numerous activities that promote interdisciplinary learning. In addition, the book provides suggestions for how best to green individual subject areas, develop integrated learning programs or replicate exemplary programs created by innovative schools and communities. Containing contributions from over 60 educators from across North America, the book's strength lies in its diverse content. Readers learn how best to apply systems thinking, teach about controversial issues and use a step-by-step approach to creative problem-solving in environmental projects. Also provided are instructions for measuring the ecological footprint of a high school, creating an indoor "living system" that cleans water, monitoring air quality with lichens and using green technologies to help green school campuses. Many articles and activities engage teenagers in outdoor learning and community restoration projects. Suggestions are included for connecting students with special needs to the environment around them. Readers will find accessible background information and suggestions for many practical projects and activities. It is sure to appeal to a wide range of teachers, educators and parents seeking innovative ideas for incorporating green themes into their programs.

Uncovering Student Ideas in Physical Science, Volume 1 by Page D. Keeley Nationally known science educator Page Keeley-- principal author of the hugely popular, four-volume NSTA Press series Uncovering Students Ideas in Science-- has teamed up with physicist and science educator Rand Harrington to write this first volume in their new series on physical science. They begin with one of the most challenging topics in physical science: force and motion. The 45 assessment probes in this book enable teachers to find out what students really think about key ideas in force and motion. The Teacher Notes, which can be used before and after administering the probe, provide background information on * the purpose of the probe; * related concepts; * an explanation-- for the teacher-- of the force and motion idea being taught; * related ideas in Benchmarks for Science Literacy and the National Science Education Standards; * research on typical student misconceptions related to the force and motion concept; and * suggestions for instruction and assessment. The book specifies grade spans-- K-4, 5- 8, 9- 12-- for each probe, based on state and national standards, and suggests ways to adapt a probe for a different grade span or context.

Uncovering Student Ideas in Physical Science, Volume 2 by Page Keeley; Rand Harrington If you and your students can't get enough of a good thing, Volume 2 of Uncovering Student Ideas in Physical Science is just what you need. The book offers 39 new formative assessment probes, this time with a focus on electric charge, electric current, and magnets and electromagnetism. It can help you do everything from demystify electromagnetic fields to explain the real reason balloons stick to the wall after you rub them on your hair. Like the other eight wildly popular books in the full series, Uncovering Student Ideas in Physical Science, Volume 2: Provides a collection of engaging questions, or formative assessment probes. Each probe in this volume is designed to uncover what students know-or think they know-about electric or magnetic phenomena or identify misunderstandings they may develop during instruction. Offers field-tested teacher materials that provide "best answers" along with distracters designed to reveal misconceptions that students commonly hold. Is easy to use by time-starved teachers like you. The new probes are short, easy-to-administer activities that come ready to reproduce. In addition to explaining the science content, the teacher materials note links to national standards and suggest grade-appropriate ways to present material so students will learn it accurately. By helping you detect and then make sound instructional decisions to address students' misconceptions, this new volume has the potential to transform your teaching.

A Demo a Day: A Year of Biological Demonstrations by Bilash, Borislaw author. Shields, Martin. Process of Science, Inquiry and Safety -- What is Life? and Water: The Medium for Life -- Chemistry of Biology -- Kinetics of Biology: Enzymes -- Energy in Biology: Photosynthesis -- Energy in Biology: Respiration -- Cells: Structure, Function and Division -- Transport Across Membranes -- DNA and Biotechnology -- Sexual Reproduction, Meiosis and Heredity -- Origins of Life, Evolution and Classification -- Diversity of Life: Microorganisms -- Diversity of Life: Plant Adaptations -- Diversity of Life: Animal Adaptations -- Vertebrate Body Systems and Homeostasis -- Ecology and Environmental Issues