Scholarly journals are also referred to as academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed journals.
For more information, please refer to: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.
Scholarly journal articles are very important sources for research as they contain current research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
To locate articles on your topic, use an index or database such as the ones recommended on this guide.
For information on how to effectively use a database, please go to Health Sciences Research: Database Searching. Here you will learn the difference between a basic and advanced search; how to identify key concepts or terms; and database limits.
Human Kinetics Library: The Human Kinetics Library is a digital hub for sport and exercise studies. It features eBooks and images, audio clips and instructional videos in the fields of kinesiology, exercise science, and allied health. The Human Kinetics Library contains authoritative information about physical activity, fitness, kinesiology, biomechanics, physiology of exercise, sport psychology, coaching, adapted fitness, and disability and sport and on specific sports. Includes Human Kinetics Core Collection.
MEDLINE: Medline (via Ovid) is a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, allied health and preclinical sciences.
PubMed: Medline (via PubMed) is a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, allied health and preclinical sciences.
Sabinet African Journals: Sabinet African Journals offers the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. Over 600 journal titles in 10 collections are available, including Medicine & Health.
SportDiscus: The SPORTDiscus database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of fitness, health and sport studies.
Sports Medicine & Education Index: Contains scholarly and trade literature on a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
APA PsycInfo [via Ovid]: Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Web of Science: This multidisciplinary database provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
Google Scholar: Use Google Scholar search to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. Google Scholar also enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
Scopus: Scopus is an abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
When searching Omni for articles, use the filters located along the left-hand side of the search screen to refine your results including limiting to peer-review.