Legal Resources Online @ Lederman Library

Canadian legal news, analysis, current awareness tools, and expert columnists.

For Queen's Law students and faculty only. It contains Canadian court cases, tribunal cases, legislation, commentary, services, and journals. It also has a large selection of foreign law, particularly British and American. To sign up as a Queen's Law student, go to the Lexis+ Law Schools page. To access training materials, go to the Training Resources page.

For non-Queen's Law students and faculty. Contains Canadian, American, British, French, Hong Kong and Australian cases, legislation, and some commentary. Highlights include Halsbury's Laws of Canada, Halsbury's Laws of England, and some Canadian legal textbooks.

For Queen's non-Law students

For Queen's Law students only: contains Canadian caselaw, Canadian legislation, the Index to Canadian Legal Literature, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Canada's legal encyclopedia), the Canadian Abridgment, and more. To access training materials, go to their Customer Learning Centre.

Free, practical legal information to help people understand and exercise their legal rights. CLEO's work focuses on providing information to people who face barriers to accessing the justice system, including income, disability, literacy, and language. As a community legal clinic and part of Ontario's legal aid system, they work in partnership with other legal clinics and community organizations across the province. *A good starting point for members of the public*

Selected unofficial English translations of decisions originally rendered in French from Court of Appeal of Quebec, the Superior Court of Quebec, the Court of Quebec, the Human Rights Tribunal, and the Professions Tribunal.

Increasing the number of important court decisions that are available in both official languages in all Canadian provinces and territories is fundamental to ensure real access to justice. To that end, the CTTJ has obtained, from the Department of Justice Canada, through their Access to Justice in Both Official Languages Support Fund, the funding for an important project entitled “Translation of Important Unilingual Court Decisions in the Other Official Language”. Currently, this project focuses primarily on the areas of criminal law and family law.

French-language Québec legal database that includes case law, legislation and commentary, judicial records, and annotated statutes.

This guide provides information on how to access case information (including court records, transcripts, etc.) from all Canadian jurisdictions.

This guide from Simon Fraser University Library provides information about how to locate court documents related to a case.

This database contains Precedent Galleries (Canadian court documents, including motions, pleadings, and facta), Quantums (to help determine award ranges), Commentary, and directories.

Search for civil and criminal cases before Ontario courts. Information available includes case number, relevant courthouse, and next court date. You will be prompted to create a ONe-key account to access this information. If you are trying to locate materials from a court file, you can then use this information to contact the court and request it using the procedures outlined in the Ontario government's guide to accessing court files, documents, and exhibits.

Linked to Supreme Court Case Information, these factums are freely available from February 2009 onward.

Trial transcripts and other critical court documents, and also trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials. It also includes biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history. This collection delivers previously hard-to-obtain historical content.

contains the following: Conventions, Legislation (Model laws and National laws), Rules of International and Regional Institutions, Case Law (Court decisions, Awards), Commentary, Organizations, Countries, Bilateral Investment Treaties, Events, Newsletter.

Available within Westlaw offering sections on Police Conduct, Unwarranted Criminal Prosecution, Right to Protest, and Legal and Equality Rights.

The National Class Action Database gives easy access to court documents for class action lawsuits currently underway across the country.

The database assists lawyers, courts and the public with the challenges presented by multi-jurisdictional class actions and reduces uncertainty for those presumptively included in more than one class action and subject to conflicting court judgements. It also informs counsel about the size and composition of class membership in a given class action, and judges on the class member’s bound by their decisions.

Please note that the database does not provide a comprehensive listing of all class action lawsuits, since it’s a voluntary initiative.

(from Hein Online) - contains the current constitution for every country and substantial constitutional histories of the United Kingdom, France, and other countries. It also has more than 800 classic books about constitutional law, with specific chapters tied to specific countries, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development and to online resources related to political development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books.

This searchable e-book describes the national law enforcement and correctional systems of more than 195 countries.

This searchable e-book covers the evolution of the American criminal justice system. The Almanac (volumes 1 & 2) examines key topics. Biographies (v. 3) includes entries on important figures. Primary Sources (v. 4) contains many documents, from the Sherman Antitrust Law and the Harrison Narcotic Drug Act to Eleanor Roosevelt's letter against lynching and the Report on Lawlessness in Law Enforcement.

(formerly Labour Spectrum) - Full text of Brown & Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration (4th); full text of cases from Labour Arbitration Cases (1st series to current). Once you login, you'll find "Labour Source" on the right hand menu.

A database of over 2700 Canadian wrongful dismissal cases. Select the relevant key factors — jurisdiction, age, occupation, and years of service — and it will show you what the courts have awarded in similar circumstances by displaying cases that meet the criteria, the notice period awarded in each, plus the overall average.

Comprehensive collection for accessing, tracking, and analyzing South African government and laws. Users have the ability to track bills at the national, provincial, and municipal levels. A detailed panel provides commentary on individual bills, where they stand in the legislative process, and their history. In addition, detailed judgments on labor issues and bargaining council agreements are provided.

A large collection of legal forms and precedents, covering a range of legal topics. Our online subscription includes:

Division 1 - Commercial and General
Division 2 - Corporations
Division 6 - Family Law (Ontario)
Division 7 - Labour Relations & Employment
Division 8 - Court Forms (Ontario)
Division 10 - Computers and Information Technology

Provides access to full text and/or citations to electronic legislative and government publications held in libraries of the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada.

Papers on many subjects that include Aboriginal Rights, Children's Rights, Immigration, Labour Law, and Policing.

Includes all debates from Parliament 1, Session 1 (1867) to February 27, 1996 (for the Senate) and January 17, 1994 (for the House of Commons). Debates after these dates are available at parl.gc.ca.

A free resource from the Inter-Parliamentary Union with over 600 data points provided directly by national parliaments on their structure, composition, working methods and activities.

(International Committee of the Red Cross) This free database is divided into two parts. Part I offers a comprehensive analysis of the customary rules of IHL deemed applicable to international and non-international armed conflict. Part II contains a summary of state practice relating to most aspects of IHL, as expressed in national legislation, military manuals, official statements and case law, and the practice of entities such as international organizations and international courts and tribunals.

This wide-ranging database of international yearbooks & periodicals, U.S. law digests, international tribunal and judicial decisions, and other significant works.

This free database includes over 25,000 decisions of international courts and tribunals, over 30,000 treaties and international agreements (including the League of Nations and UN Treaty Series), international law journals, and law reform materials. The LawCite citator tracks where international cases, treaties, and law journal articles have been cited.

The Lecture Series contains a permanent collection of lectures of enduring value on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different regions, legal systems, cultures and sectors of the legal profession.

(HeinOnline) - contains the ILSA law journals and the Philip Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition Compendium.

Contains two databases: U.N. documentation (1993 - present, with selected earlier coverage) and U.N. Resolutions (1946 - present). Full text in all official languages of the United Nations.

Virtually all of the unrestricted records of the United Nations War Crimes Commission (UNWCC), including its Far Eastern and Pacific Sub-Commission, and its three committees. Virtually all of the unrestricted records of the United Nations War Crimes Commission (UNWCC), including its Far Eastern and Pacific Sub-Commission, and its three committees.

Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) is a comprehensive, single location providing integrated access across Oxford's international law services to authoritative content, essential for anyone working in international law.

Access historical Statutes of Canada and Revised Statutes of Canada in an online, fully-searchable .pdf format. Search across the full text of all Acts, narrow your search to a specific year, or search across just the Tables or Table of Contents within each volume.

Includes the following: Ontario Sessional Papers 1868-1947; Ontario Bills as Enacted 1975-2007; Ontario Bills 1867-1997; Ontario Regulations 1944-2007; Revised Regulations of Ontario 1960-1990; Statutes of Ontario 1981-1998; Revised Statutes of Ontario 1881-1990; Ontario Budgets 1868-1995; Ontario Expenditure Estimates 1871-1929; Province of Ontario - Vital Statistics 1877-1989; Public Accounts of Ontario 1868-1998; Report of the Minister of Education, Ontario 1867-1960.

All B.C.statutes and regulations, key federal law, bills, and orders-in-council.

Created by Annette Demers at the University of Windsor's Law Library, this searches the Canadian Army Journal, Army Lessons Learned Bulletin, Army Lessons Learned Dispatches, Canadian Forces College Papers, Canadian Forces College Review, Canadian Military Journal, Canadian Naval Review, Jane's Information Group, Canadian Army News, Canadian Defence Academy Publications, Chief Military Judge Documents, Chief of Defence Staff Publications, National Defence Key Documents, Judge Advocate General Publications, The Maple Leaf, Military Police Complaints Commission Documents, and National Defence News Archives.

Up-to-date coverage of the Canadian Tax Journal, Journee d'etudes fiscales, Prairie Provinces Tax Conference, Annual Conference Report, Corporate Management Conference Report, Regional Conferences, and Selected Pre-1991 articles. You can download a copy of the help manual for TaxFind here.
https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/101822/images/Quick_Tools_Box.png

Westlaw Edge Canada offers free passwords to Queen's Law students who are currently taking a tax law course. Send an email to weblaw@queensu.ca to request a password.

Dispute Settlement Commentary Service.

Instant access to the latest issue of Inside U.S. Trade. Multi-year archive of back issues, featuring every story published in Inside U.S. Trade since 1993. Daily news updates on critical trade issues as they develop. Around the World - a document retrieval service, featuring over 35,000 trade-related documents, with dozens more added every week. These include policy papers, WTO decisions, draft and final regulations, court decisions, legislation, and many other types of information of immediate interest. They remain a part of an ever-expanding library of trade information that can be searched, read and printed.

This database Includes lists of treaties to which Canada is party and the Canada Treaty Series. The Treaty Law Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade is part of the Department's Legal Affairs Bureau.

A searchable database of basic information on over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties from 1856 to the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the Internet.

(via HeinOnline) - contains the Federal Register Indexes, the Code of Federal Regulations, the United States Government Manual, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and selected acts and regulations.

Contents: Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited With the Secretary-General, United Nations Treaty Series, Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties, Titles in the UN Official Languages. Also includes a Treaty Reference Guide.

Includes the United Nations Treaty Series, League of Nations Treaty Series, Canadian Treaty Series, Australian Treaty Series, Indian Treaty Series, United Kingdom Treaty Library, and many others.