CAL is a private, nonprofit organization "concerned with the teaching and learning of language....conducts research, provides information, and promotes improvements in language education."
The Centre for Research on Language Contact (CRLC) brings together the research activities of the faculty members and students of
York University who investigate various aspects of language contact at both societal and individual levels.
Internet links to English, other language and miscellaneous dictionaries as well as thesauri.
Excellent Web resource for information on world languages. Language information can be accessed via a search interface, or browsed by language name, family or code. Also contains a useful "point and click" map to find language information for the region chosen.
Glottolog
Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
Monitors trends in language throughout the world.
Languages of New York City
An interactive language diversity
map of New York City, the most linguistically diverse city in the world. Made by the Endangered Language Alliance (ELA), it includes over 700 languages and dialects at over 1200 significant sites. It includes Indigenous, minority, and endangered languages whose presence in NYC and the US has not previously been recognized or studied.
LINGUIST maintains a web-site with over 2000 pages and runs a mailing list with over 17,000 subscribers worldwide. LINGUIST also hosts searchable archives of over 100 other linguistic mailing lists and runs research projects which develop tools for the field, e.g., a peer-reviewed database of language and language-family information, and recommendations of best practice for digitizing endangered languages data. Searchable or browseable.
Extensive topically organized list of linguistic resources on the Internet. See also the link to
Linguistic Data Resources on the Internet on the page. Maintained by SIL International, formerly the Summer Institute of Linguistics.
Map of languages of the US. Language and linguistics data extracted from the 2006-10 American Community Survey provides information about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. Interactive.
