Bates Videos
Now in its Fifth Edition Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques and new clinical skills videos for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Each lesson is dedicated to a specific body system and includes a step-by-step demonstration of appropriate examination techniques. Rationales as well as detailed explanations are provided for every procedure, concluding with a section on recording your findings. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Biomechanics of Motion Collection
This digital collection of movement video clips allows researchers and students to access and utilize video clips of human movements. The five primary facets of the Biomechanics of Motion Collection are Tasks, Actors, Abilities, Equipment and Views.
Short and practical videos to enable learners of all levels to easily understand, and remember critical teaching points. Topics include: "How to Use a Blood Sugar Meter," "Comparing Contraceptive Methods," "Early initiation of Breastfeeding," "Wrap designs for Skin-to-Skin care," and "Initial Assessment in Labor," among others.
ICE Video Library
International Clinical Educators (ICE) specializes in Bringing the Clinic into the Classroom with excellent multimedia clinical education programs. With a focus on rehabilitation therapy for stroke, the videos are filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, rehab, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU.
Medicine on Screen - Films and Essays from the National Library of Medicine
Medicine on Screen is a curated portal featuring films from the National Library of Medicine's world-renowned historical audiovisuals collection. Many of these titles are rare, and in some cases NLM may have the only surviving copy. Original scholarly essays accompany the films, exploring the social, cultural, and medical milieu of each title, as well as cinematic techniques, the agendas of directors or producers, and other contextual details.
MSK Examination Videos
Examination of the Upper Extremity
Examination of the Neck and Back
Demonstration of Pivot Shift (Knee Exam)
Psychotherapy.net
This collection of 100 streaming videos provides training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. Covering a range of modalities, theoretical approaches, and populations, many of the videos provide viewers with an opportunity to observe practitioners in sessions with patients.
Over 300 nursing videos, which cover a wide range of topics including professional development, evidence-based research, and general practice. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse learning and research needs.
Videos in Clinical Medicine - New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine publishes peer-reviewed educational videos with the goals of providing effective clinical instruction and improved patient care. Topics include but are not limited to: Paracentesis, Central Venous Catheterization, Lumbar Puncture, and Basic Laceration Repair.
A Canadian streaming video library with over 6,000 video programs, documentaries, feature films and more! The platform is fully bilingual in English and French with content in many Indigenous languages including Anishinaabe, Inuktitut, Ojibway, Oji-Cree, and Spanish.
Access streamed educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Quality Canadian content in many health-related topics. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, and more. Programs such as Nature of Things, and News in Review are available. Teaching materials for many films and programs can be downloaded. Creating a personal account is optional, but it allows you to save and create playlists. Each video has a permanent link, which can be added to online course reserves.
Access a large collection of feature films. Click on "Meaningful Content" in the top menu bar to browse by category. Categories include documentary, science fiction and many more.
Films on Demand Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform that makes it easy to incorporate educational video content into academic curriculum. There is some science related content in this collection.
NFB.ca - National Film Board's Online Screening Room
Access to a wide selection of Canadian documentaries, animation, and alternative dramas in streamed video. Many health-related documentaries available. Creating an account is optional. It allows you to save films, and create playlists. Queen's has purchased public performance rights for educational purposes and displays at Queen's. Links to films can also be added to online course reserves.