Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.
Philosophy @ ProQuest
Search Philosopher's Index and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences simultaneously, from this starting point.
Journal Storage, the Scholarly Journal Archive (JSTOR) is an electronic journal archive which provides online access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law. From Vol. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume.
More article indexes and databases are listed on the Finding Articles section of the Philosophy Research Guide.
Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to philosophy.
Some will contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference between scholarly, trade and popular periodicals.