The Book Whisperer by
Turn any student into a bookworm with a few easy and practical strategies Donalyn Miller says she has yet to meet a child she can't turn into a reader. No matter how far behind Miller's students might be when they reach her 6th grade classroom, they end up reading an average of 40 to 50 books a year. Miller's unconventional approach dispenses with drills and worksheets that make reading a chore. Instead, she helps students navigate the world of literature and gives them time to read books they pick out themselves. Her love of books and teaching is both infectious and inspiring. In the book, you'll find: Hands-on strategies for managing and improving your own school library Tactics for helping students walk on their own two feet and continue the reading habit after they've finished with your class Data from student surveys and end-of-year feedback that proves how well the Miller Method works The Book Whisperer includes a dynamite list of recommended "kid lit" that helps parents and teachers find the books that students really like to read.
Good Books Matter by
Based on extensive research on the features that make children's books appealing and appropriate, this valuable teacher resource offers guidance on selecting books, strategies for specific grade levels, suggestions for extension, and tips for assessment. This teacher-friendly book is organized around the major genres -- traditional literature, picture books, nonfiction, poetry, and multicultural texts -- that will inspire young readers. Throughout the book, teachers will find suggestions for using literature to implement shared reading, reading aloud, and response strategies with emergent, developing, and independent readers.
The Reading Teacher's Book of Lists by
The essential handbook for reading teachers, now aligned with the Common Core The Reading Teacher's Book of Lists is the definitive instructional resource for anyone who teaches reading or works in a K-12 English language arts-related field. Newly revised and ready for instant application, this top seller provides up-to-date reading, writing, and language content in more than 240 lists for developing targeted instruction, plus section briefs linking content to research-based teaching practices. This new sixth edition includes a guide that maps the lists to specific Common Core standards for easy lesson planning, and features fifty brand-new lists on: academic and domain-specific vocabulary, foundation skills, rhyming words, second language development, context clues, and more. This edition also includes an expanded writing section that covers registers, signal and transition words, and writers' craft. Brimming with practical examples, key words, teaching ideas, and activities that can be used as-is or adapted to students' needs, these lists are ready to differentiate instruction for an individual student, small-group, or planning multilevel instruction for your whole class. Reading is the center of all school curricula due to recent state and federal initiatives including rigorous standards and new assessments. This book allows to you skip years of curating content and dive right into the classroom armed with smart, relevant, and effective plans. Develop focused learning materials quickly and easily Create unit-specific Common Core aligned lesson plans Link classroom practice to key research in reading, language arts and learning Adapt ready-made ideas to any classroom or level It's more important than ever for students to have access to quality literacy instruction. Timely, up to date, and distinctively smart, The Reading Teacher's Book of Lists should be on every English language arts teacher's desk, librarian's shelf, literacy coach's resource list, and reading professor's radar.
Indigenous Publishers
Book Links open access current issue. (March 2022)
Cultivating Genius by
The four-layered framework-- identity, skill development, intellectualism and criticality-- is essential for all youth in classrooms, especially youth of color, who traditionally have been marginalized in learning standards, policies, and school practices. Readers will learn how to redesign their learning goals, lesson plans, and the texts they use to teach. The framework offers a unique and breakthrough blend of multiple pedagogical approaches including cognitive, sociocultural, and critical and sociohistorical theories.
Culturally Relevant Pedagogy by
For the first time, this volume provides a definitive collection of Gloria Ladson-Billings's groundbreaking concept of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy (CRP). After repeatedly confronting deficit perspectives that asked, "What's wrong with those kids?," Ladson-Billings decided to ask a different question, one that fundamentally shifted the way we think about teaching and learning. Noting that "those kids" usually meant Black students, she posed a new question: "What is right with Black students and what happens in classrooms where teachers, parents, and students get it right?" This compilation of Ladson-Billings's published work on Culturally Relevant Pedagogy examines the theory, how it works in specific subject areas, and its role in teacher education. The final section looks toward the future, including what it means to re-mix CRP with elements of youth culture such as hip hop. This one-of-a-kind collection can be used as an introduction to CRP and as a retrospective of the idea as it evolved over time, helping a new generation to see the possibilities that exist in teaching and learning for all students. Featured Essays: 1. Toward a Theory of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy 2. But That's Just Good Teaching! The Case for Culturally Relevant Pedagogy 3. Liberatory Consequences of Literacy: A Case of Culturally Relevant Instruction for African American Students 4. It Doesn't Add Up: African American Students' Mathematics Achievement 5. Crafting a Culturally Relevant Social Studies Approach 6. Fighting for Our Lives: Preparing Teachers to Teach African American Students 7. Is the Team All Right? Diversity and Teacher Education 8. It's Not the Culture of Poverty, It's the Poverty of Culture: The Problem With Teacher Education 9. Culturally Relevant Pedagogy 2.0: a.k.a. the Remix 10. Beyond Beats, Rhymes, & Beyoncé: Hip Hop, Hip Hop Education, and Culturally Relevant Pedagogy
Don't Look Away: Embracing Anti-Bias Classrooms by
Don't Look Away: Embracing Anti-Bias Classrooms leads early childhood professionals to explore and address issues of bias, equity, low expectations, and family engagement to ensure culturally responsive experiences. Importantly, this book will challenge you to consider your perceptions and thought processes: Identify your own unconscious biases--we all have them!
Embracing Culturally Responsive Practice in School Libraries by
School librarians have always connected learners' life experiences, culture, and communities to materials, projects, and processes. As schools look to make these connections within the classroom and to the curriculum, school librarians are perfectly poised to lead and model meaningful steps toward a culturally responsive mindset. Embracing Culturally Responsive Practice in School Libraries celebrates how learners' cultures shape everything from their communication to how they process information. This book translates complex concepts into accessible and practical school library strategies while challenging readers to embrace and nurture their personal and professional growth. An authentic and approachable guide to culturally responsive pedagogy aligned with the National School Library Standards, this book features an adapted framework with actionable steps and activities based on culturally responsive principles that directly relate to AASL Standards; scenarios offering context for learning, demonstrating conflicts, exploring potential harm, and suggesting strategies; and reflective exercises and challenges, introductory definitions, and resources for deeper exploration.
Truth and Reconciliation in Canadian Schools by
In this book, author Pamela Rose Toulouse provides current information, personal insights, authentic resources, interactive strategies and lesson plans that support Indigenous and non-Indigenous learners in the classroom. This book is for all teachers that are looking for ways to respectfully infuse residential school history, treaty education, Indigenous contributions, First Nations/Métis/Inuit perspectives and sacred circle teachings into their subjects and courses. The author presents a culturally relevant and holistic approach that facilitates relationship building and promotes ways to engage in reconciliation activities.
Unearthing Joy by
In this follow-up to Cultivating Genius, Dr. Gholdy Muhammad adds a fifth pursuit--joy--to her groundbreaking instructional model. She defines joy as more than celebration and happiness, but also as wellness, beauty, healing, and justice for oneself and across humanity. She shows how teaching from cultural and historical realities can enhance our efforts to cultivate identity, skills, intellect, criticality, and-indeed-joy for all students, giving them a powerful purpose to learn and contribute to the world. Dr. Muhammad's wise implementation advice is paired with model lessons and assessment tools that span subjects and grade levels.