Research Guides: Primary Junior Literacy Teacher Resources: Dual Language Books

Quick Links

Browse the Shelves

Anishinaabemowin / Ojibwe

Vocabulary Books:

The Good Path by Thomas Love Peacock; Marlene Wisuri; Mary Sue Oleson (Designed by)
Call Number: Floor 1, E99 .C6 P398 2005
ISBN: 9781890434533
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Stories:

Bird Talk = Bineshiinh Dibaajmowin by Lenore Keeshig-Tobias; Polly Keeshig-Tobias (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8571 .E38 B57
ISBN: 0920813895
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Dreamcatcher and the seven deceivers = Asabikeshiiwasp gaye awiya oga-gagwe-niisibidoon by David Bouchard; Kristy Cameron (Illustrator); Stephen Kakfwi (Music); Jason & Nancy Jones (Translators)
Call Number: Floor 1, E 98 .R3 B68 2013
ISBN: 9780978432799
Emma and the Trees = Emma minwaah mtigooh by Lenore Keeshig-Tobias; Polly Keeshig-Tobias (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8571 .E38 E55 1996
ISBN: 0920813119
Publication Date: 1996
Living in harmony = Mino-nawae indauwaewin by Basil Johnston
Call Number: Floor 1, E99 .C6 J636 2011
ISBN: 9780986874000
Mmm, Cookies! by Robert Munsch; Michael Martchenko (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8576 .U66 M556 2000
ISBN: 9780590516945
Rainbow Crow by David Bouchard; David Jean (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8553 .O795 R35 2012
ISBN: 9780889954588
Publication Date: 2012-08-31

Information Books:

Gookom's Language: Learning Ojibwe by Patricia M. Ningewance
Call Number: Floor 3, PM 851 .N57 2004
ISBN: 9780969782636
Ngo kii noonwin = (Seasons) by grade six to eight students of First Nations School of Toronto; Rose Logan and Dorothy Pitawanakwat (Translators)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8235 .S3 N56 2006
ISBN: 9780968822357
Ojibwe clans = Ojibwe doodemag by James Mishibinijima; Lona Joly & Bonnie Depencier (Editors); Melvina Corbiere & Evelyn Roy (Translators)
Call Number: Floor 1, E 99 .C6 M645 2005
ISBN: 9780973990706

Cree

Vocabulary Books:

Discovering Numbers: English, French, and Cree by Neepin Auger
Call Number: Floor 1, QA 113 .A846 2013
ISBN: 9781927330982
Publication Date: 2013
Discovering Words: English, French, and Cree by Neepin Auger
Call Number: Floor 1, PM 989 .Z95 E534 2013
ISBN: 9781927330951
Publication Date: 2013
Powwow Counting in Cree by Penny Thomas; Melinda Josie (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, QA 113 .T46 2013
ISBN: 9781553793922
Publication Date: 2013-08-07
We All Count: A Book of Cree Numbers by Julie Flett
Call Number: Floor 1, QA 113 .F54 2014
ISBN: 9781554763986
Publication Date: 2014-05-04

Stories:

Mwákwa Talks to the Loon by Dale Auger (Author/Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8601 .U37 M93 2007
ISBN: 9781894974325
Publication Date: 2007-07-23
Nimoshom and His Bus by Penny Thomas
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8639 .H585 T46 2017
ISBN: 9781553797081
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Nipêhon / I Wait by Caitlin Nicholson; Leona Morin-Neilson (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8627 .I22 N56 2017
ISBN: 9781554989140
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Niwechihaw / I Help by Caitlin Dale Nicholson; Leona Morin-Neilson (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8627 .I22 N58 2007
ISBN: 9780888998125
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Pīsim Finds Her Miskinow by Willam Dumas; Leonard Paul (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8607 .U438 P57 2013
ISBN: 9781553793946
Publication Date: 2013-08-07
Wild Berries by Julie Flett (Illustrator); Earl N. Cook (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8611 .L484 W54 2013
ISBN: 9781897476895
Publication Date: 2013-10-08

Grammar books and dictionaries:

Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary by Nancy LeClaire; George Cardinal; Earle Waugh (Editor); Thelma J. Chalifoux (Foreword by)
Call Number: Floor 2 Reference Collection, PM 988 .L42 1998
ISBN: 0888643098
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Cree, language of the Plains: Nēhiyawēwin paskwāwi-pīkiskwēwin by Jean L. Okimāsis
Call Number: Floor 3, PM 987 .O38 1999
ISBN: 0889771200
Cree Language Structures: a Cree Approach by Freda Ahenakew
Call Number: Floor 3, PM 987 .A34 1987
ISBN: 0919143423
Publication Date: 1987-06-01

Inuktitut

Vocabulary Books:

Inuit Tools by Inhabit Media
Call Number: Floor 1, E 99 .E7 I712 2014
ISBN: 9781927095874
Publication Date: 2015-02-04
Kalla by Navarana Beveridge; Inhabit Media Inc. Staff
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8645 .A733 K35 2011
ISBN: 9781926569406
Publication Date: 2012-05-08

Stories:

Alego by Ningeokuluk Teevee; Nina Manning-Toonoo (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8639 .E35 A44 2009
ISBN: 9780888999436
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Amautiit ajjagiingittut by Kate McDermott; Sarah McDermott (Illustrator); Eva Areak and Naudlaq Arnaquq (Translators)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8575 .D37 A85158 1988
ISBN: 0920245277
Publication Date: 1988
Fiers d'être Inuvialuits = Quviahuktunga Inuvialuugama by James Pokiak and Mindy Willett; Tessa Macintosh (Photographer); France Benoit (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 2 French Collection, E 99 .E7 P5714 2012
ISBN: 9781927083062
La grand-mère d'Aputik by Diane Groulx; Brenda Watson (Illustrator); Sarah Beaulne (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 2 French Collection, PS 9563 .R78 G72 2000
ISBN: 9782922691009
The Lonely Inukshuk by Students from Inuglak School, Whale Cove, Nunavut.
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8550 .L66 1999
ISBN: 0590516507

Information Books:

Igluvigaliurniq Qamusiurnirlu by Solomon Awa; Andrew Breithaupt (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, TH 4890 .A92 2013
ISBN: 9781927095317
Publication Date: 2013-04-19
Unikkaatiqatigiit by David C. Natcher (Editor); Neil Christopher (Editor); Mary Ellen Thomas (Editor)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8235 .C4 U55 2013
ISBN: 9781927095492
Publication Date: 2013-07-12
Uumajut by Simon Awa; Anna Ziegler; Stephanie McDonald (Foreword by); Romi Caron (Illustrator); Leah Otak
Call Number: Floor 1, QL 105 .A94 2010
ISBN: 9781926569086
Publication Date: 2010-02-24
Uumajut vol. 2 by Simon Awa; Seeglook Akeeagok; Anna Zeigler; Stephanie McDonald; Romi Caron (Illustrator); Leah Otak (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 1, QL 105 .A94 2011
ISBN: 9781926569222
Publication Date: 2011-03-18

Michif

Vocabulary Books:

Owls See Clearly at Night: a Michif Alphabet = Li Yiiboo Miyo-Waapamik LII Swer: l'alfabet di Michif by Julie Flett
Call Number: Floor 1, PM 7895 .M53 F53 2010
ISBN: 1897476280
Publication Date: 2010-09-07

Stories:

Call of the Fiddle = Li vyayloon ka taypwatikooyen by Wilfred Burton and Anne Patton; Norman Fleury (Translator); Sherry Farrell Racette (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8603 .U755 C34 2011
ISBN: 9781926795041
The diamond willow walking stick: a traditional Métis story about generosity = Li kaan di sool: aen nistwayr di Michif li taan kayaash taanishi aen ishi maykihk by Leah Dorion
Call Number: Floor 1, E 99 .M47 D52 2012
ISBN: 9781926795096
Publication Date: 2012
Fiddle dancer = Li daanseur di vyaeloon by Wilfred Burton and Anne Patton; Norman Fleury (Translator); Sherry Farrell Racette (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8603 .U755 F53 2007
ISBN: 9780920915769
The giving tree: a retelling of a traditional Métis story about giving and receiving = Laarbr Kawmaekit: aen kiitwam achimook aen histwayr chi maykik pi aen ootistikook by Leah Dorion
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8557 .O6255 G58 2009
ISBN: 9780920915905
Li Paviyon Di Michif by Bonnie Murray; Sheldon Dawson (Illustrator); Rita Flamand (Translator)
Call Number: Floor 2 French Collection, PS 8576 .U8225 L53 2003
ISBN: 1894717198
Publication Date: 2015-09-24
Métis Christmas mittens = Lii mitenn Michif di Nowel by Leah Dorion
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8557 .O7482 M48 2017
ISBN: 9781926795799
Relatives with roots: a story about Métis women's connection to the land = Lii Peraantii avik la Rasin: Eñ Nistwaar Taanishi lii Faam di Michif E'ishi Kisheyitakik li Tayraeñ by Leah Dorion
Call Number: Floor 1, E 99 .M47 D67 2011
ISBN: 9781926795003
The Secret of Your Name by David Bouchard; John Arcand (Artist); Dennis Weber (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, PS 8553 .O795 S42 2010
ISBN: 9780889954397
Publication Date: 2009-11-24

English French Bilingual Books

The Lion in the Lake (Le Lion dans le Lac) by Sheldon Oberman; Scott Barham (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, Chldren's Collection, PE 1155 .O23 1988
ISBN: 0920541364
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Ah Belle Cite-A Beautiful City ABC by Stephane Poulin (Illustrator)
Call Number: Floor 1, Children's Collection PE 1155 .P68 1985
ISBN: 0887761755
Publication Date: 1985-01-01

English Spanish Bilingual Books

Hansel and Gretel = Hansel y Gretel by Elisabet Abeya (Adapted by); Cristina Losantos (Illustrator); Elisabet McClellen
Call Number: Floor 1, Children's Collection PC 3941 .A234 T64 2005
ISBN: 9780811847940
Publication Date: 2005-07-21