A Child of Books by
New York Times best-selling author-illustrator Oliver Jeffers and fine artist Sam Winston deliver a lyrical picture book inspiring readers of all ages to create, to question, to explore, and to imagine. A little girl sails her raft across a sea of words, arriving at the house of a small boy and calling him away on an adventure. Through forests of fairy tales and across mountains of make-believe, the two travel together on a fantastical journey that unlocks the boy’s imagination. Now a lifetime of magic and adventure lies ahead of him . . . but who will be next? Combining elegant images by Oliver Jeffers and Sam Winston’s typographical landscapes shaped from excerpts of children’s classics and lullabies, A Child of Books is a stunning prose poem on the rewards of reading and sharing stories—an immersive and unforgettable reading experience that readers will want to pass on to others.
Awesome Art Projects That Spark Super Writing by
Here are 25 sure-fire ways to erase writer's block-and meet writing standards-such as: Found-Art Superheroes, The Room of My Dreams, Canned Art, and Shakespeare at the Movies! Designed to help students craft a coherent story, develop and support a main idea, build a persuasive argument, describe a scene using precise words, and more. The art projects give students a concrete visual which inspires their writing. Includes mini-lessons, step-by-step directions, cross-curricular strategies, rubrics, and photographs of student samples!
Books That Teach Kids to Write by
This book provides a wealth of read-aloud titles and related activities that provide busy teachers with the tools to help students in grades K-12 become successful writers. Teachers can always benefit from new techniques that allow them to teach writing in a more engaging and enjoyable manner, and a resource that identifies a plethora of excellent children's books that help students become successful writers would also be helpful. Books That Teach Kids to Write introduces busy educators to the finest in children's literature in all genres, appropriate for readers in grades K through 12; and provides effective ideas for using those books to stimulate and improve student writing. This book discusses language use and other critical components of good writing, showcasing the children's books and specific activities that can help both primary and secondary school students. Included reproducibles for the writing exercises make lesson planning simple, while the sheer number of titles discussed and the extensive bibliographies provided minimize the time teachers must spend researching books to use with their students. An appendix includes more writing instruction resources, such as children's books, websites, and professional texts. Includes 14 reproducible sheets that help students practice the skills described in the book Provides extensive bibliographies and references to all the nearly 400 books discussed Contains an index that enables teachers to readily access different topics Presents quotes and advice from 25 experts in the field
Reading and Writing Genre with Purpose in K-8 Classrooms by
"Reading and Writing Genre with Purpose in K-8 Classroomsadds a new dimension to genre studies that will engage students and re-invigorate teaching. The book sharpens our focus on student motivation, an essential yet often overlooked aspect of teaching. The authors offer an array of purposeful and creative ways to teach narrative, procedural, informational, dramatic, and persuasive texts, and bring us one step closer to the kinds of learner-centered instruction so necessary to succeed in a modern world." -Sharon Taberski, author of Comprehension from the Ground Up "Make room on your professional bookshelf for a much needed book! You'll learn how to explicitly teach genre features and coach students as you establish meaningful writing purposes that inspire students to read. Not only do the authors provide solid guidelines for teaching genre in writing and reading, but they also invite you into classrooms to see how teachers and students create environments that engage all learners. And for each genre, you'll find lists of books to teach reading and writing!" -Laura Robb, author of Teaching Middle School Writers "You can explicitly teach students what they need to know to comprehend and produce genres well while engaging students in captivating communicative experiences-in fact, you can do it better!" -Nell K. Duke, Samantha Caughlan, Mary M. Juzwik, and Nicole M. Martin Too many U.S. classrooms lack a colorful compelling context for reading and writing, resulting in flat, uninspired, formulaic writing by students. Reading and Writing Genre with Purpose in K-8 Classrooms is designed to help pre- and inservice teachers, literacy coaches, and reading specialists question status quo ways of working with language and texts, replace weaker practices with better ones, and change the way genre is taught. Drawing from theory and research that suggests students learn better and more deeply when learning is contextualized and genuinely motivated, the book presents five guiding principles for teaching genre. Emphasizing purposeful communication, it will guide you through teaching students to read, write, speak, and listen to different real-world genres that inspire and engage them. Nell K. Duke, Samantha Caughlan, Mary M. Juzwik, and Nicole M. Martin: identify commonly used assignments and practices for teaching genre that are fundamentally flawed and explain why offer inspiring alternative practices, grounded in research and illustrated in real projects in real classrooms show how the five guiding principles come to life in reading and writing projects across the whole K-8 grade span provide planning sheets and other tools and tips that will allow you to manage genre-with-purpose instruction in your classroom. This book is about teaching genre differently-with purpose. Reading and Writing Genre with Purpose in K-8 Classrooms will help you reinvigorate your teaching.
Teaching Writing Through Differentiated Instruction with Leveled Graphic Organizers by
Leveled organizers with lesson tips and model writing samples help ALL students master the skills and concepts they need to succeed on standardized essay tests and beyond. Designed for teachers who want to teach writing effectively to students of different ability levels, this resource offers lessons, leveled organizers, and writing models to make planning and gathering materials a cinch. Seventeen units cover topics from structuring paragraphs to using elaboration to develop ideas, to persuasive essay writing. Helps ALL students master the writing skills and concepts they need to succeed on standardized tests and beyond.
The Write Genre by
How do we make writing meaningful to students? A leading educator and a popular novelist present a refreshing exploration of how the challenges of professional writers can give students new insights into writing. Organized around six writing genres, more than fifty mini-lessons deal with specific skills that help students write effective fiction and nonfiction in a variety of genres:personal memoir--from techniques involving a personal memoir timeline and organizer to great ways to start, create powerful paragraphs, and cut the clutter;fictional narrative--from character, plot, and dialogue to point of view and conflict resolution;informational report--from strategies for reading nonfiction and K-W-L-S organizers to adding voice and style;opinion piece--from loaded words and other persuasive writing techniques to business letters and topical issues;procedural writing--from incorporating visuals and interviewing experts to techniques for writing imperative sentences;poetry--from teaching the "tools" and specific forms of poetry to creating a poetry anthology. For easy classroom implementation, the key elements of many mini-lessons are also presented in reproducible pages, including frameworks, organizers, prompts, checklists, and grids.The book offers chapters devoted to the writing process, writing workshop, and using rubrics for instruction and assessment. The concluding chapter pulls all the threads together with a multi-genre project that involves students in using the skills they have learned throughout the school year.
Write Ways by
Write Ways has long been recognised as a practical, user-friendly text for both practising teachers and teachers in training. It is a comprehensive resource which gives teachers the information they need to teach children how to write in different styles, covering a broad range of text types -from reports to poetry to fiction. Now expanded to include a theoretical foundation, and with more material on program planning, assessment and record keeping, this book will be invaluable to pre-service education students throughout their degrees and into their teaching careers.Online Resources available for Write Ways 3rd Edition:* Assessment Checklists - these blank checklists are available as PDFs that you can download to use in the classroom or as practice for your lesson planning* Useful Weblinks for further research* A Glossary of useful words* Link to the Successful Teacher website with helpful activities and resources for student teachers* Preface from the book
Writing Instruction for English Learners by
"It is all too easy to skip steps or assume that students already have certain skills. This book helps ensure that the proper steps are taken to allow EL students to be successful in various genres of writing."-James Becker, ELL Teacher/AdministratorToronto, ON, Canada"I felt as if I had taken an entire writing course just by reading this book!"-Rachel A. Mederios, ELL Teacher/Program SupervisorJefferson Elementary School, Boise, IDProvide solid writing instruction to English learners!Exposing students to various genres of written text is one of the most powerful approaches to guiding development in writing. This resource helps teachers combine explicit and intentional strategies to facilitate writing development across genres for English learners in Grades 2-8.Based on the author's extensive experience as a writing instructor, this guide provides a unique approach that emphasizes using choice and students' personal experiences to engage English learners in writing. Chapters outline a variety of scaffolds that provide students with the targeted help they need, based on their current development and proficiency. These supports allow teachers to work with students as they analyze elements of written text, work alongside peers, and learn to write in different genres. Teachers will find:Resources for teaching narrative, expository, and persuasive writing and poetryTechniques for using the process writing model to lead students through pre-writing, drafting, revising, editing, and publishing their workReproducible graphic organizers for use with English learnersSamples of student workWriting Instruction for English Learners is rich in proven, practical techniques to equip educators with the tools they need to guide English learners to write more skillfully.
Writing Is Like Real Talk! by
Here's valuable help for improving students' writing through a sound, illustrative combination of research-based authentic writing samples and positive coaching conversations. A guide, an incentive, and a model for success, this resource uses real classroom writing and pedagogical elements that provide specific context, research connections, teacher talk, and most importantly, students' writing examples to help teachers teach writing to preschool through grade 6 students. Writing Is Like Real Talk! encourages teachers to reflect on how they teach writing-and to use what they learn from students' writing to inform their instruction. In addition to the outstanding pedagogical aids, each chapter includes authentic writing samples and coaching conversations specific to students' needs. Armed with these classroom-based scenarios, instructors can enhance the development of teacher talk that acknowledges students as writers, facilitates students' meaning making, and enables students to move toward writer consciousness.
The Writing Rope by
Writing is a task as complex and multifaceted as reading --but itâ (TM)s often taught as a single skill. Discover how to plan and deliver comprehensive, explicit, and evidence -based writing instruction with this groundbreaking book, aligned with IDAâ (TM)s Structured Literacy approach and based on the latest research. Joan Sedita 's innovative Writing Rope weaves multiple skills and strategies into five fundamentals of a comprehensive writing curriculum: critical thinking, syntax (sentences ), text structure, writing craft, and transcription (spelling and handwriting ). Teachers of Grades 4 -8 will get crystal-clear guidelines that demystify the process of helping students learn to write and write to learn across academic content areas. And with dozens of included templates, handouts, and other resources -available for download online --teachers will have all the tools they need to design and deliver explicit, high-quality writing instruction. Perfect for professional development, this invaluable planning guide will help teachers apply the science of reading to the skill of writing --and help students master a critically important aspect of literacy. TEACHERS WILL: Learn the fundamentals of effective writing instruction. Get research -based background knowledge about writing development, the five components of the Writing Rope framework, the role of fluent transcription skills in proficient writing, and the intentional choices proficient writers make about writing craft.Apply evidence -based practices in the classroom. Teach essential skills all students must learn to become proficient writers, focusing on critical thinking strategies for generating ideas and gathering information before writing, strategies for each stage of the writing process, syntactic awareness and sentence writing, paragraph writing, and skillful structuring of different types of text. Help students "write to learn." Teach students how to use writing to enhance their learning across different content areas. Learn how to plan effective writing assignments in different content areas, and explicitly teach students skills for summarizing texts and writing about narrative and expository text. PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Apply the Writing Rope framework to support your studentsâ (TM) writing skills with classroom activities, Connect to Your Classroom questions, suggestions for scaffolding, a Writing Assignment Guide to use with any grade or content area, and 40 + reproducible instructional resources for students and teachers.
Speech to Print: Language Essentials for Teachers by
For two decades, Speech to Print has been a bestselling, widely adopted textbook on explicit, high-quality literacy instruction. Now the anticipated third edition is here, fully updated with ten years of new research, a complete package of supporting materials, and expanded guidance on the how of assessment and instruction in today (TM)s classrooms. Filling a critical gap in teacher preparation courses, Speech to Print supplies K-12 educators with in-depth knowledge of the structure and function of language-fundamentals they need to deliver successful structured literacy instruction. Renowned literacy expert Louisa Cook Moats gives current and future teachers comprehensive, accurate, and accessible information on the underpinnings of language instruction, including: the history of the English language and its effect on spelling English phonology, including speech sounds and their distinctive features how print represents speech in English the morphological aspects of words syntax and its instruction how meaning is conveyed with language Through case studies, activities, recommended teaching principles, and close analysis of real-world student work samples, teachers will also receive invaluable insight into how their students should be taught. Ideal for use in preservice courses and in-service professional development sessions, this essential textbook will give educators the strong foundation they need to teach language and reading skills to students with and without disabilities. WHAT (TM)S NEW: New and expanded practical content on the how of language and reading instruction New and updated chapter exercises New faculty support materials More on key topics like program and curricula selection, frameworks for instructional planning, and problem solving when students are slow to respond to intervention More accessible, undergraduate-friendly tone and structure Additional graphics to illustrate key concepts NEW FACULTY SUPPORT MATERIALS Support your instruction with a complete package of online companion materials, including chapter quizzes, a sample syllabus/course outline, PowerPoints to accompany each chapter, PDF handouts for selected concepts, and a video demonstrating production of all the sounds in the English language.
Spelling for Life by
There is a myth that English spelling is unnecessarily complex, and it is spread by those who don't understand the writing system. Spelling for Life offers lucid, accessible tools which help to reveal that, when explicitly and systematically taught, spelling is scientific, law-abiding and even elegant. Using a synthesis of theory, research and teaching experience, the fascinating nature of English spelling is systematically teased out. The examples and exercises throughout offer an encouraging, accessible way to implement the program of study and strive to reveal the beauty of spelling. Spelling for Life enables teachers and students to: - learn what the common spelling coping strategies are; - gain insights into undoing poor spelling habits; - work together to reveal patterns not only in regular spelling, but also in words which on the surface seem to break the spelling rules; - practise successful spelling strategies, progressing from simple to complex words rapidly and with confidence. This new and improved edition includes updated spelling techniques as well as new chapters on orthographic mapping, spelling assessment, teaching consonant clusters well and suffixing rules. Aided by example lessons, formative assessments, unique tools, a scope and sequence, and extensive practice lists, this highly acclaimed overview of spelling succeeds in developing theory and practice in the writing system for teacher and student alike.
Uncovering the Logic of English by
Discover answers to questions about English and eliminate thousands of exceptions. In this easy-to-read volume, multiple-award-winning author and speaker Denise Eide uncovers valuable reading and spelling tools (such as nine reasons for a silent final E). Empowering teachers with this vital information is an easy way to raise reading and spelling scores.
Cultivating Writers by
The six essential steps for nurturing writers who have the will to write is the core of this practical book. Based on extensive classroom experience, the book explores how teachers can help students tap into their own life experiences, model the habits of a writer and make use of the tools of the trade. Strategies throughout the book show teachers how to create an environment that helps students see writing as a rewarding experience in and outside the classroom. Powerful real-life anecdotes and ready-to-use activities support this guide to developing classrooms full of thoughtful, passionate writers.
OWA: Ontario Writing Assessment 5 by
This assessment resource helps you to make confident decisions when analyzing and assessing students' writing. You will be able to confirm and validate your students' achievement as you compare their writing to curriculum-based criteria and authentic student anchors. From this information, you will be able to identify instructional next steps also included in this resource. Targeting the next steps in the assessment for learning cycle is central to OWA. -- p. vi
Trait Crate®, Kindergarten by 
In addition to this limited-feature free version, the app can be purchased for $4.99. Available for iOS and Windows.