Research Guides: Public Health: Books

Recommend a Book for Purchase

Know of a good/helpful book that the library should consider purchasing? Complete the Recommend a New Collection Acquisition form.

Request Book Content Not Available from the Library

If the library does not provide access to the book/chapter that you are trying to access, you can request a book/chapter via the library’s interlibrary loan service:

Complete a request using the Blank Request Form.
You will be asked to select a Pickup Location, however scanned chapters will be sent electronically.
Generally, there is no charge for this service. If any charges arise, you will be contacted by the interlibrary loans department prior to your request being processed.

Introduction

Use the library discovery tool Omni to search the library's collection of books in print and online (ebooks).
- See search results for recent public health ebooks in Omni here.
- You can request books and book chapters not available via Queen's University Library directly within Omni (note: you'll need to sign-in with your NetID and password to do this).
You can also search for ebook content available from the AccessMedicine ebook collection (you can search by topic or choose from different specialties listed under the Library view, e.g., "Public Health").
Lower down the page are links to selected public health books available at Queen's University Library (check Omni for the most recent book content).

eBook Collections

AccessMedicine
Provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.

eBooks - Quick Reference

A Dictionary of Epidemiology This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception - reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, thisbook remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature - everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Neededto Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.
Publication Date: 2014
Dictionary of Public Health, 2nd edition
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Public Health
Publication Date: 2008
Oxford Bibliographies - Public Health
ISBN: 9780199756797