Roles and responsibilities
This section presents the tasks required to start a QSpace Community.
Preparation
- Initial contact with prospective community
- QSpace demonstration to wider community group
- QSpace documentation is made available (policy documents, etc.)
- Community coordinator is assigned
Community defines and provides:
- Community page information and logo
- Collection access policies
- Defaults for metadata submission form
- Collection page(s) information and logo
- workflow details for each collection
- list of authorized people for each workflow role (submitter, reviewer, metadata editor, coordinator)
QSpace provides:
- Community page
- Collection pages
- Submitter authorizations
- Access control
- Workflow roles authorizations
- Training session(s)
Establishing the Community environment
Working with the Community, the QSpace Team, gathers information about the Community and directs the process for setting it up in QSpace. This includes the following tasks:
- Outline how the Community will work together with the QSpace team/Library to create the service.
- Establish Community policies: who can submit, who has access, etc.
- Create a list of contributors
- Set up Community workflows for processing and submissions
- Define metadata and controlled vocabulary requirements
- Create the Community's portal page, using a logo, news items, description of the Community, links, etc.
- Establish the Community's collections
Loading historical content
Some Communities will need to load existing content. The QSpace Team will work with the Community to:
- Assess content and metadata to be batch loaded
- Create/convert metadata for selected items
- Load batch content and metadata
