Many of the library's reference materials are available online, so you can access them from anywhere and easily search for the information you need. We also have print materials in the Reference Section on the 5th Level of Douglas Library. If you have any questions about using reference materials, or would like a librarian to help you find the best sources, email engsci@queensu.ca.
Knovel is a searchable database of more than 5,000 engineering and applied science handbooks and other reference works.
Emerging Technologies for Sustainable Desalination Handbook by
Emerging Technologies for Sustainable Desalination Handbook provides professionals and researchers with the latest treatment activities in the advancement of desalination technology. The book enables municipalities and private companies to custom-design sustainable desalination plants that will minimize discharge, energy costs and environmental footprint. Individual case studies are included to illustrate the benefits and drawback of each technique. Sections discuss a multitude of recently developed, advanced processes, along with notable advances made in existing technologies. These processes include adsorption, forward osmosis, humidification and dehumidification, membrane distillation, pervaporation and spray type thermal processes. In addition, theoretical membrane materials, such as nanocomposite and carbon nanotube membranes are also explored. Other chapters cover the desalination of shale gas, produced water, forward osmosis for agriculture, desalination for crop irrigation, and seawater for sustainable agriculture. International in its coverage, the chapters of this handbook are contributed by leading authors and researchers in all relevant fields. Expertly explains recent advances in sustainable desalination technology, including nanocomposite membranes, carbon nanotube membranes, forward reverse osmosis and desalination by pervaporation Provides state-of-the-art techniques for minimizing system discharge, energy cost and environmental footprint Includes individual case studies to illustrate the benefits and drawbacks of each technique Discusses techniques for the custom-design of sustainable desalination plants for municipalities, private companies and industrial operations
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters by
Inland aquatic habitats occur world-wide at all scales from marshes, swamps and temporary puddles, to ponds, lakes and inland seas; from streams and creeks to rolling rivers. Vital for biological diversity, ecosystem function and as resources for human life, commerce and leisure, inland waters are a vital component of life on Earth. The Encyclopedia of Inland Waters describes and explains all the basic features of the subject, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and the complex function and balance of aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity. Used and abused as an essential resource, it is vital that we understand and manage them as much as we appreciate and enjoy them. This extraordinary reference brings together the very best research to provide the basic and advanced information necessary for scientists to understand these ecosystems - and for water resource managers and consultants to manage and protect them for future generations.
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by
Lakes and reservoirs hold about 90% of the world's surface fresh water, but overuse, water withdrawal and pollution of these bodies puts some one billion people at risk. The Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs reviews the physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs, and describes their uses and environmental state trends in different parts of the world. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes some 200 entries in a range of topics, including acidification, artificialisation, canals, climate change effects, dams, dew ponds, drainage, eutrofication, evaporation, fisheries, hydro-electric power, nutrients, organic pollution, paleolimnology, reservoir capacities and depths, sedimentation, water resources and more.
Handbook of Water and Used Water Purification by
The book addresses the entire water cycle. The focus is on new technologies/processes (especially in high performance biological treatment), energy recovery, water recycling and reuse. Recommendations with regard to the right technologies/processes for specific situations are provided. In addition, the most modern water terminology with more positive connotations is used. This is especially important in the field of direct and indirect potable reuse (DPR and IPR respectively).
Handbook of Water Resources Management: Discourses, Concepts and Examples by
This book provides an overview of facts, theories and methods from hydrology, geology, geophysics, law, ethics, economics, ecology, engineering, sociology, diplomacy and many other disciplines with relevance for concepts and practice of water resources management. It provides comprehensive, but also critical reading material for all communities involved in the ongoing water discourses and debates. The book refers to case studies in the form of boxes, sections, or as entire chapters. They illustrate success stories, but also lessons to be remembered, to avoid repeating the same mistakes. Based on consolidated state-of-the-art knowledge, it has been conceived and written to attract a multidisciplinary audience. The aim of this handbook is to facilitate understanding between the participants of the international water discourse and multi-level decision making processes. Knowing more about water, but also about concepts, methods and aspirations of different professional, disciplinary communities and stakeholders professionalizes the debate and enhances the decision making.
Modern Water Resources Engineering by
The Handbook of Environmental Engineering series is an incredible collection of methodologies that study the effects of pollution and waste in their three basic forms: gas, solid, and liquid. This exciting new addition to the series, Volume 15: Modern Water Resources Engineering , has been designed to serve as a water resources engineering reference book as well as a supplemental textbook. We hope and expect it will prove of equal high value to advanced undergraduate and graduate students, to designers of water resources systems, and to scientists and researchers. A critical volume in the Handbook of Environmental Engineering series, chapters employ methods of practical design and calculation illustrated by numerical examples, include pertinent cost data whenever possible, and explore in great detail the fundamental principles of the field. Volume 15: Modern Water Resources Engineering, provides information on some of the most innovative and ground-breaking advances in the field today from a panel of esteemed experts.
Research Handbook on International Water Law by
The Research Handbook on International Water Lawsurveys the field of the law of shared freshwater resources. In some thirty chapters, it covers subjects ranging from the general principles operative in the field and international groundwater law to the human right to water and whether international water law is prepared to cope with climate disruption. Its comprehensive survey of international water law links international water principles to case studies and examples from specific basins, to bring research into real-world relevancy. Different regional traditions and frameworks of international water law are presented in order to provide a global overview. The work is edited by three scholars and practitioners whose work deals with the law of international watercourses and features perspectives from distinguished experts in the field. ThisResearch Handbookwill be a crucial resource for academics and researchers, students, relevant government agencies, and practitioners interested in water law and humanitarian law. Contributors include: L. Boisson de Chazournes, L. Caflisch, M. Curlier, L. del Castillo Laborde, J.W. Dellapenna, G.M. Farnelli, B. Guthrie, J.G. Lammers, R. Larson, C. Leb, D. Magraw, M.M. Mbengue, S.C. McCaffrey, O. McIntyre, M.M. Murcia, N. Odili, D. Padmanabhan, R.K. Paisley, C. Parseghian, G. Reichert, A. Rieu-Clarke, A.F.S. Russell, S.M.A. Salman, S.M. Schwebel, Y. Su, A. Tanzi, A.D. Tarlock, M. Tignino, P. Udomritthiruj, K. Uprety, S. Vinogradov, I.T. Winkler, P. Wouters, D. Ziganshina
Water Quality and Treatment by
The definitive water quality and treatment resource--fully revised and updated Comprehensive, current, and written by leading experts, Water Quality & Treatment: A Handbook on Drinking Water, Sixth Edition covers state-of-the-art technologies and methods for water treatment and quality control. Significant revisions and new material in this edition reflect the latest advances and critical topics in water supply and treatment. Presented by the American Water Works Association, this is the leading source of authoritative information on drinking water quality and treatment. NEW CHAPTERS ON: Chemical principles, source water composition, and watershed protection Natural treatment systems Water reuse for drinking water augmentation Ultraviolet light processes Formation and control of disinfection by-products DETAILED COVERAGE OF: Drinking water standards, regulations, goals, and health effects Hydraulic characteristics of water treatment reactors Gas-liquid processes and chemical oxidation Coagulation, flocculation, sedimentation, and flotation Granular media and membrane filtration Ion exchange and adsorption of inorganic contaminants Precipitation, coprecipitation, and precipitative softening Adsorption of organic compounds by activated carbon Chemical disinfection Internal corrosion and deposition control Microbiological quality control in distribution systems Water treatment plant residuals management
Drinking Water Dictionary by
With comprehensive definitions of thousands of essential terms of today's water engineering and sciences, this is--The Best Water Quality Dictionary You Can Own-- *15,000 up-to-date entries fully define the language of water quality *Authoritative and accurate--definitions supplied by leading experts in each field as part of the 23-member AWWA Technical Advisory Committee *Encyclopedic--covers all disciplines--supply, treatment, regulation, chemistry, health effects, microbiology, stormwater, wastewater, hydrology, distribution, management, and 34 other topic areas *Abbreviations, acronyms, hydraulic equations, chemical formulas, and mathematical models *Conversion factors tables *Units of measure in both customary and SI units This comprehensive, indispensable reference puts accurate information at your fingertips. Whether you are a professional, a student, or a general reader with interest in a critical environmental subject, The Drinking Water Dictionary defines the current language of water quality and gives you a better understanding of the ideas and concepts you need to know.
Encyclopedia of Aquaculture by
A comprehensive, one-stop reference to the science, technology, and economics of aquaculture Technological advances, coupled with the mounting pressures of global food production, have dramatically changed aquaculture in recent decades. And while there has been an explosion of books and articles on its different facets, none of these provide a single comprehensive reference to this evolving and fascinating field. With an emphasis on current trends and sustainable practices, the Encyclopedia of Aquaculture presents complete A-to-Z coverage for a multitude of scientific, technical, and economic topics encompassed by the discipline. From abalone to zooplankton culture, over 150 timely and authoritative entries explore such areas as: Primary species being cultured worldwide, as well as species under development Echinoderms, molluscs, crustaceans, and finfishes Aquaculture for food, research, bait, aquariums, and endangered species recovery Management techniques for water and feed quality as well as disease control Different aquaculture systems-from pond production to marine net-pens Environmental issues and the economic feasibility of closed and offshore systems Business plans, marketing, and sales Complete with photographs, illustrations, and graphs as well as references to the extensive literature, the Encyclopedia of Aquaculture is a handy, easily accessible resource for scientists and professionals in aquaculture as well as individuals wishing to expand their knowledge of the field.
Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources by
The fresh water supplies of the Earth are finite and as the world's population continues to grow humanity's thirst for this water seems unquenchable. Intense pressure is being exerted upon freshwater resources and a lack of adequate clean water is seen as one of the most serious global problems for the 21st century. Indeed it has been said that the next war will be fought over water, not oil. Human health and the health of supporting ecosystems increasingly depends upon our ability to find, control, manage and understand water. In a single volume, The Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources provides the reader with a comprehensive overview and understanding of the diverse field of hydrology. The intimate inclusion of material on water resources emphasizes the practical applications of this field, applications which are indispensable in any modern approach to the subject. This volume is a vital reference for all hydrologists, hydrogeologists and water engineers worldwide, whether they are concerned with the exploitation of new sources of water, the protection and management of existing reserves, or the science of surface water and groundwater flow. 114 eminent scientists from 17 countries worldwide have contributed to this authoritative volume. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes almost 300 entries on a range of key topics, including arid and semi-arid zones, climates and climate change, floods and droughts, desertification, entropy, flow measurement, groundwater, hydrological cycle, hydrological models, infiltration, karst hydrology, paleohydrology, precipitation, remote sensing, river pollution prevention, rivers, lakes and seas, satellite hydrology, soil erosion, water treatment, water use, weather radar, and world water balance.
Encyclopedia of Water Science by
PRINT/ONLINE PRICING OPTIONS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com
Processing Water, Wastewater, Residuals, and Excreta for Health and Environmental Protection by
This single-source reference is your "go-to" resource for current information on water treatment and water quality Knowledge about water and wastewater treatment, pollution control, water quality, and related applications and equipment is increasing exponentially. New challenges bring new technologiesand terminologies. The acronyms alone can test your memory, not to mention the plethora of proprietary devices and technologies created by different companies. Processing Water, Wastewater, Residuals, and Excreta for Health and Environmental Protection: An Encyclopedic Dictionary consolidates concise definitions, equations, and formulas into one authoritative reference. With logical, systematic organization and clear, concise explanations, it: Defines more than 25,000 key terms related to water treatment, wastewater treatment, excreta disposal, residuals processing, and environmental health Features 1,800 illustrations, including chemical reactions, formulas, figures, and tables Updates you on current technologies and applications Covers both proprietary and nonproprietary technologies This is the hands-on reference for professionals teaching, conducting research, or working in hydraulics, hydrology, water supply, wastewater disposal, stormwater management, environmental engineering, and civil engineering. It is also an excellent resource for students studying water resources and environmental engineering.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater by
STANDARD METHODS FOR THE EXAMINATION OF WATER & WASTEWATER contains the most comprehensive collection of water & wastewater analysis methods available. More than 320 methods are presented, each with step-by-step procedures for precise analysis of water & wastewater's chemical constituents, sanitary quality, & physical & biological characteristics. 21 new methods have been added & 97 methods have been revised to reflect the very latest technical advances. Incorporates the methods published in the 17th Edition Supplement. Reformatted to a larger, easy-to-use size. Contents: Physical Examination, Determination of Metals & other Inorganic Nonmetallic Constituents, Determination of Organic Constituents, Examination of Water & Wastewater Radioactivity, Toxicity Test Methods for Aquatic Organisms, Microbiological Examination of Water, Biological Examination of Water.
Use Omni to search the library's catalogue for books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, open access materials, and more. You can discover materials that are not available at Queen's but that you can freely request either within Omni or through interlibrary loan.
