Available online from 1964 to current issue.
Analyses educational problems across different cultures, including Indigenous populations around the world.
Available online from 2008 to current issue
The journal brings together emergent and ground breaking research in the field of indigenous studies within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate.
Pawaatamihk: Journal of Métis ThinkersIn November 2022, our Circle of Editors had the opportunity to visit with Elder Verna DeMontigny and talk about our vision for this journal. During the visit, Verna graciously offered the name Pawaatamihk, which in Michif and Cree roughly translates to “collective dreaming” or “a group of people dreaming.”
In the same way that dreaming can offer us direction and futures to aspire to, so too will the knowledge that comes through this journal. Simultaneously it is an opportunity to connect to our shared pasts as Métis people, including honoring our ancestors and living relatives whose hard work and dreams have paved the way for our thinking today. We are inspired by the ways that Métis thinkers are building knowledge in many different spaces—within and outside of academia—and dream that this journal will become a nourishing home for Métis thought. Knowledge shared through scholarly papers, visual art, poetry, book reviews, and community stories will be included in each edition. Intentional care will be put toward making space for 2SLGBTQ+ and gender diverse thinkers, scholars at different career stages, and community members not affiliated with academic institutions.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal), an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library, is a database of full-text electronic resources including articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Note: Not all materials are freely available. Some resources are licensed but may still be available to you through Queen's Library. There will be a Get It @ Queen's button on these items.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous Peoples in North American culture, history, and life.
This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Includes citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Content range covers sixteenth century through the present. Earliest indexed publication is from 1890; some coverage throughout 20th century; majority of the collection was published after 1990.
FNMEIAO is a subject association that supports educators who are teaching about First Nations, Metis, and Inuit Studies in Ontario. It provides elementary and secondary teacher resources that connect Indigenous Knowledge, history, and culture to the Ontario curriculum, including lesson plans and videos in English and French. There are also materials for teaching multiple Indigenous languages. FNMEIAO emphasizes how non-Indigenous educators should critically evaluate the materials they use in order to mindfully and respectfully engage with Indigenous Knowledge and resources.
