Skip to main content

Kinesiology and Physical Health Education

Finding Articles

Use an index or a database to find articles. Databases that you can employ specifically for your program include:

Other Useful Databases/Indexes

Indexes articles newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.
 
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of citations with abstracts and other pertinent data related to teaching and research in education, complemented by links to more than 200,000 full-text non-journal documents. 
 
Gender Studies, Sexual Diversity, and Family and Social Studies.
 
A pre-selected group of 10 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in health & medicine. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.
 
Provides fulltext access to grey literature such as unpublished reports, policies and manuals.
 
Citations to, and summaries of, physical education topics from a psychological perspective.
 
Comprehensive index to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
 
Find articles on a broad spectrum of topics. Can be used to search for articles which cite another author or article.

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly journal articles are important sources for research as they contain the most current research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Scholarly journals are also referred to as academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed journals.

For more information, please refer to: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.