Skip to main content

Music

Navigate the Music Collection

Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor

Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.

Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:

  • M - Scores. Scores are shelved in 3 sections, by size: miniature (study scores), regular stacks and oversize.
  • ML - Books on music literature, history and criticism. The BIOGRAPHY/CRITICISM number for composers is ML410. Books are grouped in alphabetical order by the biographee/subject. e.g Bruckner ML410 .B88
  • MT - Books on Music Theory, Teaching/pedagogy or Technique for instrumental/vocal study

Essential Reference

More Reference Tools

Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians. Enl. ed.
Ref. ML105 .B16 2001 6 vols.

Short biographies of musical personalities past and present. Centennial ed. includes popular music figures.
Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world. 11 vols.
Music Ref. ML102 .P66 C66 11 vols.
 
Volume 9 on published under title: Bloomsbury encyclopedia of popular music of the world / ed. by David Horn et al. Contents: v. 1. Media, industry and society. v. 2. Performance and production. v. 3. Caribbean and Latin America. v. 4. North America. v. 5. Asia and Oceania. v. 6. Africa and the Middle East. v. 7. Europe. v. 8. Genres : North America. v. 9. Genres : Caribbean and Latin America. v. 10. Middle East and North Africa -- v. 11. Genres: Europe.

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada

Freely accessible online updates to Encyclopedia of music in Canada, 2nd ed. - Kallman and Potvin, eds. Music Ref. ML106 .C3 E52 1992t / Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada, 2nd ed. Music Ref. ML106 .C3 E5214 1993 3 v.
 
Print versions subsumed by The Canadian Encyclopedia and updated online by Historica Canada. These combined sources are still the most authoritative first point of reference for researching the music of Canada.

The Encyclopaedia of music in Ireland / eds. Harry White & Barra Boydell

Music Ref. ML101.I73 E53 2013 2 vols.
First comprehensive attempt to chart Irish musical experience across recorded history and document Ireland's musical relations with the world at large. Alphabetical listing.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Updated web access of Colin Larkin's 10-volume The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition, covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, available through Oxford Music Online. Library has 3rd ed. of The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Stauffer Ref. ML102 .P66 G84 1998 8 vols.
Web access to The Garland encyclopedia of world music, the first encyclopedia devoted to the music of all the world's peoples, with each volume devoted to a single region. Print edition: Music Ref. ML100 .G16 1997- 10 vols., accompanied by 9 CDs (SRCD97-121 v. 1-9) on the CD shelves.
Updated web access through Oxford Music Online to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Music Ref. ML100 .N48 2001 29 vols.

Handbook of music terms / Parks Grant
Music Ref. ML108 .G844 H3

Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents. 3rd ed. / compiled by Anna Harriet Heyer.

Music Ref. ML113 .H52 1980 2 v.
A listing of scholarly or critical published series of complete works of composers, or historical sets of music by time period, musical genre or geographic region. Many volumes-in-progress before 1980 were mapped out in the bibliography and subsequently published.  Check QCAT and shelves M1-5 for the contents of these series received on standing order.

Music reference and research materials : an annotated bibliography / V.H. Duckles, I. Reed. 5th ed.
Stauffer Ref. ML113 .D83 1997 and copy in Music Stacks

New Oxford history of music
ML160 .N44 10 vols.

Presents music history in chronological time periods in relation to human culture and activity.  Includes biographies of individuals, documentation of sources and bibliographies.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Music

OBO Music lists books, journals, primary documents, web resources, and multimedia resources.

The Oxford companion to music

Web access via Oxford Music Online to the print edition of The Oxford companion to music / Alison Latham, ed.Ref. ML100 .O94 2002t in Music Reference

Successor to Percy Scholes' Oxford companion to music and Denis Arnold's The New Oxford companion to music.

The Oxford history of Western music / Richard Taruskin.
Music Ref. ML160 .T18 2005 6 vols.

Challenging the received wisdom of the field, musicologist Richard Taruskin sets the details of music and the chronological sweep of figures, works, and musical ideas within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history. Greater attention is given to the full range of 20th century music, including American music as part of the mainstream tradition of western music, women in music, and popular musics.

Oxford Reference Online - Music

More than 69,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries on the wide range of subjects within the broad field of music.

RISM (International Inventory of Musical Sources)

Database documenting extant musical sources (manuscripts, printed music, writings on music theory,and libretti, mostly before 1800) available in world libraries, archives, monasteries and private collections.

Selected musical terms of non-Western cultures : a notebook-glossary / Walter Kaufmann

Music Ref. ML108 .K37 1990

Terminorum musicae index septem linguis redactus / Polyglot dictionary of musical terms (1978)
Music Ref. ML108 .T4

Translations of music terminology in seven languages: English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Spanish, and Russian.