Skip to main content

Philosophy

A brief guide to information resources in Philosophy at Queen's University Library.

Article Indexes

Use an index to find journal articles by doing a keyword or subject search. Articles are important in your research since they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Journal articles are not listed in QCAT, however the titles of journals are. When looking for a specific journal, perform a Journal Title search and follow the links to either the online, or the print, subscription information.

Key Indexes

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
 
Search Philosopher's Index and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences simultaneously, from this starting point.
 
Collection of scholarly philosophy journals and series, with full-text available online for the publications to which Queen's Library has a print subscription.
 
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is the largest open access archive in philosophy. It is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by a community of philosophers. All sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics, is monitored. Sign up for a PhilPapers new account while you are on campus so that you can take advantage of all services including configuring the Queen's web proxy to access full text through the Library's subscriptions. Consult the PhilPapers Search Guide to know how best to search and limit results. 
 
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and encourages the early distribution of research results. The SSRN is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences and humanities, including the Philosophy Research Network (PRN).
 
A&HCI is part of Web of Science. To search this database select A&HCI under More Settings at the bottom of the screen. Particularly useful for Ethics, History & Philosophy of Science.

Other Useful Indexes

Africa Knowledge Project
Africa Knowledge Project promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora.
 
REF PA2 .A613 (v.1-72; 1924-2001)
Comprehensive index to scholarly research in classical studies. Content coverage: Second millennium B.C. - 800 A.D.
 
British Humanities Index
REF AI3.B86 from 1962-
General index that indexes over 300 journals published in Great Britain.
 
Essay and General Literature Index
REF AI3 E7 from 1900-
Author and subject index with emphasis on materials in the humanities and social sciences. Published semi-annually. Also includes biographical material.
 
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. By accessing Google Scholar from this link you will be prompted to enter your NetID and password (from off-campus) which activates full text access to journals subscribed to by Queen's Library.
 
Index to a wide range of scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known specialized magazines.
 
Multidisciplinary. Provides international coverage and indexes journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters.
 
IMB covers all subjects relating to the period of 300-1500 in Europe, North Africa, Armenia and the Muslim World.
 
Interdisciplinary index to articles, essays, books and reviews covering the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (i.e. 400 to 1700 AD).
 
JSTOR
Journal Storage, the Scholarly Journal Archive (JSTOR) is an electronic journal archive which provides online access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law. From Vol. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume.
 
Facsimile page images and searchable full-text for approximately 500 international and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
 
A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, fine arts, social sciences and mathematics.