Skip to Main Content

Philosophy

A selective guide to information resources in Philosophy at Queen's University Library.

Video Collections

The multimedia collection at Queen's Library contains thousands of DVDs, a growing number of online (streaming) videos and subscriptions to several online video collections.

Locating Videos at the Library

Perform your search in Omni and to limit your search results to Videos, select Videos from the Resource Type facet located along the left side of the screen. You can also restrict your search results to Video/Film within Advanced Search:

Online/Streaming Video Collections

Audio Cine
Hundreds of films from major studios including Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures, Tristar Pictures, Universal Studios Canada and MGM Studios.

Criterion on Demand
Users may stream or download from a selection of over 2900 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more. Criterion-on-Demand makes use of the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in on both PC and Mac. Users wishing to stream or download films will need to have the plugin installed.

Curio.ca
Streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — thousands of programs and resources can be accessed on this site. Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review, Marketplace and George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.

Films on Demand
Database of documentaries, educational videos and news footage. The Library subscribes to the Humanities & Social Sciences Collection.

NFB.ca - The National Film Board's Online Screening Room
Access to documentaries, animation and alternative dramas in streaming video, as well as NFB playlists, upcoming films and other related resources.

For additional information on video collections available at Queen's Library, visit http://library.queensu.ca/search/video-collections.

Podcasts

A Big List of Philosophy Podcasts
Compiled by Andrew Lavin (CSU Chico, Butte College, Feather River College)

Philosophy and Ideas Podcast Series
Maintained by Kelly Truelove