Skip to main content

Philosophy

A brief guide to information resources in Philosophy at Queen's University Library.

Finding Books

Use the Queen's Library Catalogue (QCAT) to find the locations and call numbers of books (as well as videos, audio, microform, map, serial, and rare titles) at Queen's Library.

To limit your search in QCAT to electronic books, choose E-Books from the drop-down menu.

E-Book Collections

Most of the library’s electronic books are listed in QCAT and Summon, but you may also search the ebook collections directly. If when searching ebook collections directly you encounter a title in the collection to which Queen’s does not have access, you can request a print copy of the title through interlibrary loan (RACER).
 

Collections of historical e-texts include:

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text of many English language philosophy classics from 1473-1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Full text of works printed in Great Britain and the America during the 18th century.

Past Masters
Large, full text collection of philosophy classics, in both original language and English translation, written by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
A collection of digitized versions of most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. 

Library of Latin Texts Online
Collection of important Latin texts from 240 BCE to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965)

Project Gutenberg
Contains many philosophy classics.

Translated Texts for Historians
Full text book series makes available historical sources from 300–800 AD translated into English, in many cases for the first time.

Library Classification System - Browsing for Books

Most of Queen's Library's philosophical research materials are located in Stauffer Library. Queen's Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to arrange books:

B Philosophy (General)

BC Logic

BD Speculative philosophy (General philosophical works, metaphysics, theory of knowledge, methodology, ontology, cosmology)

BH Aesthetics

BJ Ethics

To find out more, check the Library of Congress Classification Outline - Class B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion.

Books not at Queen's Library

WorldCat
The combined online catalogues of tens of thousands of libraries around the world. You can request books in WorldCat that are not held by Queen's Library by using our interlibrary loan serivce.

Catalogues from Other Libraries
Links to other academic library catalogues in Ontario and beyond.

Interlibrary Loan
If the book (or journal article) you want is not available at Queen's Library, you can place an Interlibary Loan request through RACER so we can try to get it from another library.