Research Guides: CURR 623 Geography (IS) Inquiry Project: Newspapers

Newspapers

The following databases include newspapers from around the world, both mainstream and alternative presses.

Factiva
To search using the classic interface, click the Switch Factiva button top right.
Provides access to more than 28,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. Contains same-day and archival coverage of key newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Note: 5 concurrent users limit
To create a permalink for a Factiva article, please use the link creator form found via this link: https://guides.library.queensu.ca/c.php?g=501533&p=5363542.

Note: Our institutional license supports "reader access only", and is not intended for text data mining or content analysis uses.
PressReader
PressReader gives you same day access to newspapers and magazines from around the world in full colour, full page format and available in over 60 languages. Current with 90 backfile for most titles.

Access to the Globe and Mail is restricted to on-campus only.
Alternative Press Index
Interdisciplinary index of over 300 periodicals, newspapers and magazines which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Covering 1969 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change. 90% of the publications indexed in API are unique and not indexed in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature or the Social Sciences Index. API and its archive indexes all articles of 5 or more paragraphs including: editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction, speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints, bibliographies, directories, resource lists, autobiographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs, and reviews: book, film, record, TV, drama, arts, and multimedia.

Alternative Press Index is updated quarterly.

Quick Links

Browse the Shelves