Skip to main content

Black Studies

Black Studies: Africa and the Diaspora

These library resources offer a range of materials on Africa, slavery, colonialism, and the Diaspora:

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice  
Archives primary source documents for the study of slavery and abolition with materials from Africa, the Caribbean, the U.S., Latin America, and Europe from 1490 to 2007.

Empire Online  
Find primary source documents on colonial history, politics, and culture from 1492 to 2007, primarily about the British Empire, especially Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia.

Open Access Journal Collections

AfricaBib
An open access database that indexes the following types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; and conference papers.

African Journals Online: Open Access Collection
"African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals." The OA collection contains over 200 open access titles.

African Journal Archive
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent. The "access key" indicates which titles are available.

African e-Journals Project
To expand free, online access to journals published in Africa, the African e-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals. 

Africana Periodical Literature
The Africana Periodical Literature database provides metadata of articles on Africa covering a wide range of topics, from geography, history and anthropology to agriculture, women's studies, medicine and health. It currently contains more than 177,000 records from over 800 journals. There is a strong focus on journals published in Africa. More than 41,100 articles have a link to full text, and more than 73,900 articles have an abstract.

Connecting Africa
A gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide. It provides access to 65315 publications from 93 repositories.

Sabinet African Journal Archive 
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent.

Websites

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of A Continent
Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries. 

Microfilm

Cooperative Africana Microform Project
The Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP), founded in 1963, is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa and to make these materials in microform available to researchers. Available via interlibrary loan. 

News

AllAfrica.com
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 900 news and information items daily from over 150 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public.