Learning how to conduct research is one of the most important skills a student will learn at university.
This Introduction to Research guide will help you begin researching a topic and will take you through the process. The steps outline an effective strategy for finding information for your research paper, evaluating the information found, and documenting the sources.
This section introduces reference databases and resources (databases, collections, and encyclopedias) to help you get started with your research in Black Studies.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures around the World (online)
This two-volume work is unique in that it provides a worldwide, comparative perspective on forced and voluntary mass migrations and the refugee cultures they engender.
Country Report - Economist Intelligence Unit
Political and economic analysis and forecasts for 189 countries. Continuously updated.
Oxford Bibliographies (online)
Includes a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult:
African American Studies
African Studies
A Black Canadian bibliography (1999) (print; Reference Collection)
Z1395 .B6 F73 1999t ref
The history of Blacks in Canada : a selectively annotated bibliography (2003) (print; Reference Collection)
Z1395.B55 J86 2003 ref
Canadian black studies bibliography (1971) (print; Reference Collection)
Z1361 .N39 C27 ref
Caribbean orientations : a bibliography of resource materials on the Caribbean experience in Canada
Z1395 .W47 C37 1985t ref
Ashgate Research Companion to Black Sociology (2015)
By Earl Wright II and Edward V. Wallace
Black Queer Studies: A Critical Anthology (2005)
Edited by E. Patrick Johnson and Mae G. Henderson
Black Studies Reader (2004)
Edited By Jacqueline Bobo, Cynthia Hudley, Claudine Michel
Critical Black Studies Reader (2017)
Edited by Rochelle Brock, Dara Nix-Stevenson, and Paul Chamness Miller
Early Modern Black Diaspora Studies: A Critical Anthology (2018)
Edited by Cassander L. Smith, Nicholas R Jones, and Miles Grier