Skip to main content

Black Studies

Newspaper Research Guide

Newspapers
A comprehensive guide to the library's subscription newspapers and news resources in print, on microfilm and online. It covers both current and historical sources that can be accessed in the Library or online.

Current News

Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications from ethnic, minority, and indigenous presses. Also includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Includes:

  • New York Amsterdam News
  • New Pittsburgh courier
  • Los Angeles Sentinel
  • Philadelphia Tribune
  • Baltimore Afro-American
  • Chicago Defender

Factiva
Provides full text of articles from over 8,000 newspapers in 22 languages from 118 countries. Usually no photographs, graphs or other images are included.

PressReader 
Provides access to over 2,000 U.S. and international titles from over 100 countries in 56 languages displayed in their original format and layout. 

Historical

African American Newspapers 1827-1998
This database features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
This enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s.

The Black Panther
Microfilm: The Blank Panther newspaper, 1967-1980.
Digital: selective issues in Black Thought and Culture

Black Studies Center
Includes the full text of the Chicago Defender, 1910-1975.

Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
Archive of The Globe and Mail newspaper, and its earlier title, The Globe.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes various American newspapers dating back to the 18th century.

New York Times
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago. Index for 1851-1993.